My Reviews (31)

White Russian Coffee Brownies

Here's a sinful brownie recipe especially for the adults! A chocolate, cream cheese and liqueur treat that's sure to be a hit all around.
Reviews (31)


03 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: MEGNERD
These brownies are kick-you-in-the-rear delicious! After brushing the kahlua on top, let them sit overnight. The alcohol will evaporate an all the flavors soak in. They are SO GOOD! I took the recipe to an annual bake-day with some friends. None of the brownies even made it out the door! Kudos to the chef!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: caliboo
I must say, since white russians are my drink of choice, I couldn't wait to try this recipe. I'm sorry to say that I think it's awful. I used an 8X8 pan instead of a 9X9, and I barely had enough chocolate to cover the bottom of the pan, let alone to split in half. And the cream cheese layer was HUGE, entirely too much. Perhaps if the taste were more balanced, but you really need more chocolate to be able to call this a brownie, it consists mostly of the cream cheese. It is very sticky and gooey and stuck to the pan, despite greasing and flouring. I'll never make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2006
Reviewed by: Sarah S
Mmmm...Great moist brownies. I halfed the cream cheese like recommended by others but next time may make the full amount as I thought that was the best part of the recipe. The only problem was the cooking time. Like others have said before, after the recommended cooking time, the outside was cooked while the middle was gooey. I made a "ring" of foil (like when cooking pie crusts in the oven to prevent the edges from burning) and covered the cooked outside portion (exposing the uncooked portions) and put back in the oven, checking continuously until cooked. Although it was a pain, the results were fantastic. The taste of the chocolate and cream cheese was similar to black-bottomed cupcakes my mom always used to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Cnun
Made these today for my wife and I. Only had 8oz of cream cheese, so I halved that layer and did not brush with coffee liquor after cooking. Turned out great! Used an 8X8 pan, so they were nice and thick. Cooked for 35 minutes and were done perfectly. May use slightly less vodka next time. Overall very good!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: daidai
FANTASTIC after I followed the suggestions of halving the cream cheese filling. I even baked this in a 8x12 cake pan and it turned out great after 35 minutes in the oven. Even though it was hard to spread, I felt that it was truly a brownie's thickness when done that way. I was very satisfied. The only different thing I did the second time I made these was increase the amount of vodka in the chocolate mixture by about 3 Tablespoons, since I felt that it was a little weak in the alcoholic taste. Finally, I heavily recommend oiling the pan well. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: FORESTPINE
I hated it and my husband liked it so I refrained from rating it. After using half the bowls in my kitchen, I found the recipe to have too little chocolate mixture and too much cream cheese mixture. It overcooked the outsides while the the inside remained gooey. And the taste wasn't worth raving about in the least. I was terribly dissapointed. My husband said it was like eating cheesecake inside a cookie sandwich, so he liked it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: MABILAY
WOW!!! If the finished product tastes anything like the batter, this stuff is awesome! I only used one 8 oz package of cream cheese instead of two.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 May 2007
Reviewed by: MEEMEEBULUGA
Tips: Bake at 350 for 40 minutes and the brownies will be perfectly done. Ease up on the vodca in the cream cheese. Once you have the layers in place use a knife to swirl all three together, then detail the top with a toothpick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: -ra
i liked the idea of these, but i didn't like the result. WAY too much cheese mixture in the middle and it didn't get solid for me -- even after putting them in the oven a second time! cut the cream cheese down to 1 brick, DON'T soak the top with liquor, DO swirl or slightly mix the top two layers. good luck...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2004
sinfull and easy... definatly a keeper I will be making these again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes