My Reviews (36)

Butter Cake with Lemon Curd Filling

This is a tasty sponge cake, with a flavoursome lemon curd filling. Remember not to overfill the middle of the cake with the curd, or you'll have an interesting time trying to ice the cake edges!
Reviews (36)


18 May 2005
Reviewed by: MEGUSTARIA
scrumptious! particularly if one avoids questionable substitutions...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: Mrs. Perkins
I needed a recipe for white cake so I used this one without the lemon filling (I hate lemon filling) and it came out great. I made it with strawberries and whipped cream icing and I added an extra splash of milk to make sure it was moist, and it was eaten up within 2 days!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: dyemysoul
I made this cake for my moms birthday, and it came out wonderfully!!! Very easy to make, very moist, and very light!!! perfect for summer!!! i used heavy whipping cream for a frosting which fit perfect with the light cake!! i can't say enough good things about this recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Lainie
I made this cake for my son's birthday. I used Splenda rather than white sugar so the layers did not rise very high. Although he loved the cake, I thought it had too much orange which overpowered the lemon flavor which gave it a "funny" taste. I think my son said he loved it because he didn't want to hurt my feelings. I doubt I'll be making this cake anytime soon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: RMNAAS
I really loved this cake. I gave it four stars because despite liberally greasing the cake pans it stuck to the bottom making have to make two batters for one occasion. I used wax paper on the second attempt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: annanthony
The flavor and texture of the cake were excellent. For the filling, I used a little more lemon juice and a little less orange juice, and I threw in some lemon zest, too, because I wanted a more lemony flavor. It turned out really nicely.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: food
This cake tasted very good. HOWEVER: 1. It stuck even to wax paper! 2. The batter was a weird consistancy and looked curdled. 3. It was terribly crumbly. It did not stay in one peice. 4. It was overly sweet. So if looks don't matter this is a good cake for you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Deb W.
I'd lost the white cake recipie I used to make my Rhubarb Cake and used this one instead . . . it's great! Cake is light and delicate, top browns nicely. I don't miss my old recipie!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: SBRUIN
My husband requested a layered cake with filling for his birthday. I found this recipe and it was a big hit with my family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: KimberlyinCT
I made just the cake mix, and it was absolutely delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes