My Reviews (125)

Cup Cake Icing

This is an icing recipe that can be changed to match whatever you're making. Change the colour, add some flavours, there's so many options available to you.
Reviews (125)


08 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Cookies
Great flavour and the consistency was good. thx
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: lovestohost
I made this based on the rave review by naples and because i needed a white white frosting (my go to is Butter Cream II from here and it uses butter so it's not white white). My grocery store doesn't carry the Hi-Ratio shortening, so I was stuck using Crisco. This is ok, but def has the greasy telltale shortening consistency. I may use again when I need white white, but will stick w/Butter Cream II as my go to frosting. EDIT: I've since amended my rating to 5 stars....the difference? Hi ratio shortening! It makes all the difference in the world. I also now add a dash or two of butter flavored extract to this frosting, as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: dkr30
Wonderful! Quick and easy. Everything I was looking for in a homemade frosting! Will definitely be making again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: barnyard82
Great frosting! I had a big bag of confectioners' sugar and thought 16 oz. meant 2 cups! Don't make this mistake. 16 oz. is actually about 4 cups! Still delicious though once I added the right amount! I think I'd prefer with butter instead of shortening but soooo good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2011
Reviewed by: shaynie30
not creamy, tastes like shortening
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: mominml
Great piping frosting. It holds its shape so well and was easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: abapplez
Excellent! Perfect white frosting in under 5 minutes. I needed a pure white frosting and did not have clear vanilla so I went with Almond Extract and it worked out great. I was very generous with the frosting on the cupcakes I used this on and received many favorable comments about it not being overly sweet and having great flavor and texture. This one will definately be used again and again. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: mary_o
Made this to put on 24 Rainbow Cupcakes and had plenty left over. I used clear vanilla and butter flavored shortening. The icing came out off-white, so if you want pure white icing, use white shortening. The flavor was really good and the butter flavor was a welcome addition. I didn't think it was too sweet - granted each person will have a different perspective on what constitutes "too sweet". If it helps, I'm more of a carb-addict than a sugar-addict, so I would say my taste buds are more sugar sensitive than those of you who crave sweets. I needed to add more water because it was just too difficult to ice the cupcakes w/o destroying them with just the 4 T of water as the recipe called for. Easy enough though. All in all, I'd definitely use this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: wannabe chefette
I'd actually like to give this only 4 stars because it does NOT frost a 2 layer cake. After I frosted the bottom layer I had to make an additional bowl of frosting. However, this is very easy to make and is very airy and light. It frosts really nicely. Just be sure to double the recipe if you're wanting to frost a whole cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Darlene's kitchen
I used butter flavor Crisco for the shortning. It turned out creamy and just the right sweetness. Gave this recipe 5 stazrs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes