My Reviews (125)

Cup Cake Icing

This is an icing recipe that can be changed to match whatever you're making. Change the colour, add some flavours, there's so many options available to you.
Reviews (125)


06 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Paige
I was looking for a vegan frosting recipe that didn't use margarine, as I had none on hand. This recipe is OK. I first made it exactly as the recipe called except I halved it and used Soy Milk instead of water. Like this, without any alterations, it tasted exactly like the shortening and had a very thick consistency. I added a lot more vanilla and a bit more soy milk. In the end it was an ok recipe that tasted pretty good with the vegan cupcakes. With my alterations, it would have recieved 4 stars. Without them, barely 2. Thanks for the recipe! xx
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: Anh N' Jamey Drury
The BEST Cake Frosting recipe, EVER!!! THANKS FOR SHARING, LAURA B.!!! ))
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Kim's Cooking Now!
Great frosting! I wanted a bit of butter flavor, so I used about 3 Tbls. of butter, and the rest shortening. I added about 1/2 tsp of butter flavoring as well. This was a perfect amount of frosting to frost a dozen of cupcakes, with about 1 cup left over (which I plan to use when I make my Valentine's cookies in a few days). I will use this one again, that's for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: Tauvia
This is the first time I made frosting successfully. It came out wonderful but I did not have any shortening so I used lard and butter. Also we liked the thick consistency so we did not add all the water. My husband said it tasted too much like sugar (which I liked) so he threw in some lemon juice and lemon extract. No matter what it still tasted and looked fabulous. I will use this recipe over and over again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: DAMARIS
DELICIOUS !!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: smhernandez18
This frosting is verry yummy! I made it with butter instead of shortning and it give it a more buttery taste.... The only problem I had was that it was too liqudy and not thick... but I just put it in the freezer for 30 min to an hour and it comes out just fine!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: mcrb05
This frosting was a huge hit! My mom told me that I could make my sister's graduation cake and I wanted it to look really nice. I bought piping tools, stuff to decorate the cake with, and a big cupcake pan. I never made frosting before and I was really excited to try it out. When we took the cake out and displayed it for everyone to see, people thought it was done by a professional! I was very glad to see not only did it turn out more than I would have thought but they enjoyed it as well! GREAT RECIPE!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Momi
My husband loves this frosting, it reminds him of the kind his mom makes. It is super delicious. I had problems with it being a bit runny, but my frosting skills are lacking, so most likely my fault & not the recipe - I had to frost the cupcakes and then put them in the freezer to keep the frosting from falling off (that was the 1st batch.. the 2nd was better, probably my water was too warm). I used Earth Balance margarine, left out the salt and used regular vanilla - my frosting was a little more "earthy" colored, but absolutely delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: jennifercalling
Very sweet but VERY good. I had to add a little milk to the final product because it was a bit grainy but I'm under the impression that I had more than a pound of sugar. Regardless, it was amazing and this is from now on my go to icing recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Bill Burke
perfect base for decorating cakes etc. absolutely perfect
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes