My Reviews (125)

Cup Cake Icing

This is an icing recipe that can be changed to match whatever you're making. Change the colour, add some flavours, there's so many options available to you.
Reviews (125)


03 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
So good I could eat this with a spoon! Since the frosting doesn't call for butter, and I did want a white frosting, I used Hi-Ratio shortening, clear vanilla and some butter flavoring. I made 1-1/2 times the recipe (for Mini Oreo Surprise Cupcakes) and used an egg white for part of the water called for, then just added water without measuring exactly until I had the consistency I wanted for piping. This was creamy, fluffy, and pleasantly sweet and flavorful, with no greasy mouth feel. (I highly recommend Hi-Ratio Shortening for frostings like this) I've made some fine white or buttercream frostings from this site and this one truly stands out as one of the best. I ended up with some frosting leftover, but believe me it will NOT go to waste!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: cheesecake girl
I thought this recipe was fantastic. I didn't substitue the butter for the shortening, I made it exactly the way it was said to be made. YUMMMY MMMMM!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Bucket of cookies
THIS HAD A VERY GOOD TASTE BUT I DON'T KNOW WHAT I DID WORNG BUT FOR SOME REASON MY FROSTING HAD A GLOW TO IT. CAN ANYBODY TELL ME WHY???
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
Wow is this frosting ever good! I doubled it - used clear vanilla extract, 2 Tbsp. of warm water and 5 Tbsp. of whole milk. This is a keeper for sure!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: chef tara
This frosting is exactly what it says...."white decorator frosting". It is very sweet, not much flavor (but that's how white decorator frostings are), and it's a good consistancy. I used milk instead of water and added a little more than 4 TBS until I got the consistancy I wanted. I chose this because I was out of butter and needed a recipe that didn't call for it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Manon
This is the best frosting ever!!!! Here in The Netherlands, whe don`t know a lot about frostings and icing and so whe don`t have a lot of things that you can buy in the US or UK but for all the people in Holland there`s a tip: Shortening can be replaced by creamy butter or as whe call it "roomboter". Thanx for this great recipe. Manon
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: IREALLYHATECOOKING
Mediocre. Its a little grainy and doesnt taske sweet. I would use 1/2 butter/margarine and 1/2 shortening also add more vanilla extract lots lots more. that improves the taste. looks nice on cakes though
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Joanne Salm Klysen
One word---FABULOUS!! I made this frosting for a group, and everyone raved about it!! It tastes just like the frosting you get on store-bought cakes. I also made a chocolate version--used milk instead of water, and added about 1/4 cup cocoa, and the results were equally as wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: MaWaBa
Easy and quick recipe (my favorite kind!) and tasted great too. Used 1/2 butter and 1/2 Smart Balance veg shortening. Also subbed 1/2 of the water for heavy cream. Needed a few extra drops for the right consistency. Frosting is pretty, spreads well and looks great with decorations.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Kittygirl
FABULOUS!! I made two white 8" round cakes and topped one with this delicious frosting and angel flake coconut. It looked so beautiful! On the other one, I used a little red food coloring to make a strawberry cake with pink frosting. I decorated it with fresh strawberries. This frosting is so versatile; goes on smoothly and is so fluffy! My husband and grandkids loved their cakes! Will definitely be using this recipe again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes