My Reviews (35)

Lovely Soft White Bread

What yummy, simple bread! It is soft and moist, though has a crust you'll love. You can substitute honey for the sugar if you like.
Reviews (35)


20 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: sabbiaK
I have already made this 3 times. This is the best white bread recipe I have come across with so far. I only used1 tablespoon of sugar and milk powder.
 
09 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: JJ80
So far this is the best recipe that I've ever tried and successful. I guess it depends on your bread maker, I have to add i tablespoon of butter and 1 tablespoon of honey on top of all above ingredients.
 
27 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: teresa
I loved this bread and so did my husband, i did'nt have dry milk so i just put one cup of whole milk in after warming it up in the microwave for one minute, i also replaced the sugar with honey. Delicious and moist!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2008
Reviewed by: ladylestat
Awesome bread.A few changes as i had no dry milk.So i used none and it was fine.Also i had no bread flour so i used regular and instead of 3 cups i used 2 and 3/4. My family wont stop eating it and now refuse to buy store bought!!20 years of bad recipes and im finally an expert!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: lizpeh
Finally, a recipe for soft, fluffy white bread! I've been searching and trying for 2 months before I come across this one. My boyfriend is picky but he loves this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
Just about the most perfect, versatile, basic white bread you could wish for. Great texture - soft and moist, yet with the slightly crackly crust I love. I reduced the sugar to 1-1/2 tsp. because I don't care for any hint of sweetness and because my bread machine doesn't like too much sugar either and has a tendency to over rise the dough! I do make a point to use the nonfat dry milk powder when a bread recipe calls for it as it is my understanding that there is something unique to the dry milk powder that helps with the rise and that produces a bread with a soft, velvety texture. The science bears itself out with this bread. Great basic, everyday bread to refer to over and over again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2004
Reviewed by: TEKSONIC
This is the best bread I have made yet. Light and fluffy. The only change I made was to reduce the quantity of sugar so that the taste was less sweet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: babybear19
Oh my goodness! This is the most delicious and fluffy bread I have ever made and tasted. Only change I made was 2T of honey in place of sugar and butter in place of the oil. To die for! I'll totally make this bread for as long as I live.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: E.conlow
One of the best White Bread recipes I have made . I do not own a bread machine or powder milk on hand so I heated 1 c. milk and 1/2 c. water. I had a hard time keeping my kids away or they would have finished the loaf in 15 min.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: KingsHorses
Really great recipe and VERY easy. Good texture, not too dense and perfectly moist. I made a loaf for a friend and one for us the next day - everyone loved it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes