My Reviews (209)

Easy Light White Bread

A simple and delicious white, soft bread with a light, flaky crust. Try some thick slices in the toaster, and serving can be as easy as butter alone the bread is that tasty!
Reviews (209)


04 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: StaceyL
This was delicious and very soft! I made the dough in my Kitchen Aid Mixer with the dough hook. Add the warm milk, sugar and yeast and let sit for about 10 minutes. Then add the rest of the ingredients and mix for about 5 minutes. I needed to add more flour...not sure how much...but quite a bit until it kneaded in my mixer easily. Then I covered it and let it rise for 25 minutes, punched it down and put it in a sprayed bread pan. Covered it again for 10 minutes then took off the cover and turned on the oven. It rose for about 15 more minutes while the oven heated up. I baked it at 350 for 25 minutes and it was perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Michigan Mommy
This is wonderful bread! I used the dough cycle and followed the previous reviewers suggestion of shaping it into a 9 bny 5 loaf pan and letting it rise 30 minutes (although next time I'd probably let it rise 45-60 min). Then baking it at 350 for 35 minutes in the oven. Turned out perfectly! My husband LOVED it and said I should make it every morning! We had half the loaf left over for a couple of days and I made the BEST garlic toast with it...slice 3/4 inch thick, generously butter both sides, put on baking sheet lined with nonstick aluminun foil, then mix 1/4 cup parmasan cheese with 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and 1 tsp. of Italian seasoning, sprinkle on each slice of buttered bread (on top side only) and then sprinkle the top of the seasoned side with a 3 tbsp. shredded mozzarella cheese. Bake at 400 for 10 minutes or so until bottom is toasted and top cheese is bubbled and browning. These were so delicious with spaghetti, much better than the frozen 'Texas Toast' you buy at the store. This bread is requested especially for the garlic toast I make with it! I bet it would make wonderful French toast as well!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: TERESA92
Today was the first time making this bread and it turned out WONDERFUL! I didn't make any changes to the recipe. The crust was tender & slightly chewy while the inside was incredibly soft. We gobbled it up with butter and honey right out of the machine. I've now found my perfect white bread recipe. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: Ann Davis
Ijust finished baking this bread. The only change I made was that I used bread flour, probably from habit. The bread has a wonderful texture, is hearty and has a very good flavor. It is definately a keeper -- thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: ALIEA
Exactly what we were looking for - simple and delicious. Toward the end of the baking cycle, the aroma overwhelmed the house in the most wonderful way! The crust is light, almost flaky! This is the end of a long search for a simple bread machine-bread without the crunchy crust. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: GINNYG
This bread is really tasty! It is really easy to make and has great flavor. A keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2008
Reviewed by: Asli Ocak
we loved this bread much.as the other rewiews say its so soft inside.i used also different sort of flours and each time it turns out great.the lastest time i added some chopped walnuts.it was yummy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: SusieBlue
I've made this for the first time this morning. The tast is excellent, my daughter walked in and asked for a slice as she was starving (a thick slice) even she thought it was gorgeous. Same problem though, I live in Johannesburg, 6000 ft above sea level and even with some adjustments still very dense. Will mke it again later in the week though as it's worth it for the flavour. Many thanks for sharing this
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: tstandr
Holy smokes, this bread turned out amazingly. I also mixed it by hand and baked in the oven. I mixed yeast, sugar, and mild and let stand for about 10 minutes. It was just getting a bit frothy. Then, I added the flour salt and butter (which I softened in the microwave). I covered the bowl with a damp towel and let it rise, punched it down and let it rise again. I would've liked to have let it rise a bit longer the second time, but I was in a bit of a time crunch to get it done. It baked for 35 minutes at 350 degrees, the top got nice and golden, and could've stayed in another 5 minutes or so. It cooled in the pan and when I turned it out, it was gorgeous. It was light and dense at the same time. I can't wait to make this again. I made it last night and have almost just the heel left...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: MOTTSBELA
Great bread! Might add a tad more salt next time. Stuck to my bread machine pan. Don't know if I didn't let it cool long enough, or if the dough was too moist. Anyway, so easy and delicious. Definitley making this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes