My Reviews (41)

Thyme Roasted Chicken

This is my preferred method for roasting whole chickens for Sunday lunches and get-togethers. Fresh thyme makes all the difference.
Reviews (41)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: erinzing
This tasted really great and the family liked it, but I had the same problem I always have with roasting chicken - the clean-up in the oven!!! No amount of foil tenting, various roasting pans or any other contraption I come up with makes much difference. Tastes great, but I probably won't make again for that reason.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CHIEFXCEL21
I followed the recipe exactly and yet my chicken wasn't even close to being ready in the amount of time given. We had to cut it apart and continue cooking it, then broiling to get the skin brown.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Navy_Mommy
The onions were good, but the chicken was unremarkable.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: VARUCADARLING
My family loved this recipe. By far the best baked chicken I've ever had.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: RENEESM
Great taste. We don't use butter and the chicken was fine without it. Didn't know what was meant by "line with thyme sprigs" so I tucked some under the skin and put more inside with the lemon.
 
13 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: Lisa Scott Provost
This tasted really great and the family liked it, but I had the same problem I always have with roasting chicken - the clean-up in the oven!!! No amount of foil tenting, various roasting pans or any other contraption I come up with makes much difference. Tastes great, but I probably won't make again for that reason.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: Marie
I followed the recipe exactly and yet my chicken wasn't even close to being ready in the amount of time given. We had to cut it apart and continue cooking it, then broiling to get the skin brown.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: SunnyByrd
Excellent flavor! My chickens were quite a bit larger than 2.5 lbs (closer to 5 per, I think), so I had to cook them quite a bit longer than instructed, and at a lower temperature so I didn't kill the outside before the inside was ready - probably about 90 minutes at 350. This is also a great recipe for leftover chicken to use in other recipes, as the flavors aren't too strong or distinctive to blend well with other things. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: AZ
This is a great recipe for a standard roast chicken - the herbs and lemon really standout. The only caution I have for cooks is to make sure you use a larger bird. I made this with a small bird and whiel the meat wasn't done until the directions, the bird came out fairly dry. If you are going to do a small bird, make sure to tent the bird with foil and baste to keep it moister. This is what I should have done, and will do the next time I use this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: Lois Lane
The onions were good, but the chicken was unremarkable.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes