My Reviews (613)

Mixed Seafood Stew

This is a stew which originated in San Francisco called cioppino. It's wonderful served with crusty bread for mopping up the lovely juices.
Reviews (613)


31 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: CHUMS
Star Pooley's ciopppino is wonderful as it is, and a great jumping off point as a base for customizing this wonderful stew. Here is El Paso, most people appreciate a little spice and Star's cioppino takes nicely to a "t" or a "T" of crushed red pepper. I too added salmon and cod, along with "frozen seafood mix" from the local market (contains octopus, squid, and mussels). My current batch on the stove right now is made with fish stock (just boil a whole fish), red wine and 4 garlic cloves. This batch is about 50% larger than Star's recipe and I tracked the cost at $60.05 for 10 quarts. This cost included $15 for a pount of picked-over blue crab (Sam's Club). A little pricey but only $6/serving for a main course and big eaters... along with a wonderful crusty french loaf. Gracias amiga!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: GRANDESA
Great recipe that everyone went crazy for!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: ABORBERG
Excellent recipe that is so easy to make and a perfect change from chicken and beef. Great for a large dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: DIZYLISA
This was a truly wonderful recipe. Better than I have had in many restaurants. I would recommend using salmon instead of the cod though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: MOONNOODLE
I don't normally like fish soup - I think it's something to do with texture! But this was really tasty. All I had to put in it was canned crab, a bit of frozen shrimp and some cod but that was enough. I also added a few potatoes to make it more substantial but other than that I stuck with the recipe. I liked it because it wasn't too tomato-y. It had tomatoes in it but it wasn't tomato based. Everyone who ate it loved it. Keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: BRIDGETCASEY72
I have made this dish on several occassions! You just can't get enough of it! I substitute the clams for mussles not a big clam fan... otherwise this is a 5 star dish~
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2004
Reviewed by: BOBPLECZ
This is absolutley wonderful (and easy to make, too)! This is on the menu for one of our special dinners at least once a year.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: WENDYRAEDUTHIE
The only reason this didn't get 5 stars was because of the price. It's not a cheap dish, but it was absolutly amazing. I used sole instead of cod, but really you could use any combination of sea food. Really rich flavor, couldn't eat a big serving. Served the leftovers with angel hair pasta, it was way better this way. Worth making if you are out to impress.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: ROBBING
Didn't use chicken broth, instead used celery sauce, i think thats what its called, and about 3 cups of water with it. Still came out superb, ended up with leftovers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: Boise Cuban
This recipes was fantastic and very easy to make. I substituted a nice piece of lobster and I added the cod fillet instead of the mussels and crabmeat. Though I might just add everything next time. Everyone Globbbled it up. This is a keeper. Thanks Star for submitting this recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes