My Reviews (613)

Mixed Seafood Stew

This is a stew which originated in San Francisco called cioppino. It's wonderful served with crusty bread for mopping up the lovely juices.
Reviews (613)


08 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: MADODD
Overall this is a good Cioppino. Being Italian, I had to delete the butter for a nice Extra Virgin Olive Oil. Other changes...I used crushed tomatoes with added puree and a can of diced tomatoes, no water was necessary, added 1/2 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper to give it a little zip, used red wine instead of white and included squid and sea bass. Yummy hit for a friend's birthday dinner party.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: Chef Liz
Absolutely incredible! I made the broth a few weeks ago and froze it. I had a dinner party for 8 with heavy hors d'oeuvres and then the Cioppino and bread for the meal.I thawed the broth, had it hot and simmering and added the seafood and it was ready in a snap. I used bay scallops and shrimp only and it was superb! Every bit was eaten! Definitly let the broth simmer a long time for the depth of flavor. It will be a staple at our house!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: RUBYALLEY
What a fabulous stew! I replaced the butter with olive oil, added more garlic, but didn't chop fine. I added a handful of parsley and a handful of cilantro. I added 3 anchovy filets and broke them down in the hot olive oil until they dissolved. I added the wine and deleted the water. I put one large can of stewed tomatoes and 2 cans of crushed tomatoes. Then added the clams, mussels, bay scallops, jumbo scallops, shrimp and white fish. This is excellant!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: ABoston
I used the modifications submitted by ROTED, which I highly recommend. A nice thing about this dish is that it's cost can vary dramatically, depending on the types of fish and shellfish you include. If you're making it for company, I recommend that you add one lobster claw per serving, and add it last so that it is on top of the clams and mussels. This is expensive but well worth it, in terms of both taste and presentation.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: WIGGLEBOX
Amazing! I could just leave it at that...but I won't. The depth in the broth was wonderful before the seafood, but after adding the seafood it was beyond my scope of words. I only used fresh shrimp and scallops - living in the midwest 2lbs each of those cost me $45. I did put in some brown rice and an extra bit of stock to compensate. Instead of water I used two cups of wine and let it simmer for 2 hours before adding seafood. Also, fresh herbs not dried and a full stick of butter added a wonderful richness. My picky boyfriend said "This is great!" and when we discussed maybe spicing it up (pepper sauce?) he decided "No, I like it like this, it's flavorful and comforting". Definatly comforting... will make again and again and pass this recipe on. Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: brookeo
This recipe is a very good start to a cioppino! I reduced the butter as many others have mentioned and used clam juice, chicken stock, and white wine as my base, no water. In addition, I used spicy marinara sauce in place of the stewed tomatoes, therefore I didn't need to add oregano, basil or thyme but I did add fresh parsley and bay leaves. I also added chopped fennel which gave the stew more complex flavor. I substitued halibut for the cod, I think any firm white fish would do. We had this for Christmas eve dinner with bread and salad and it was wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Rose A.
Excellent with a few minor changes: 1. use half butter and half olive oil to saute garlic and onion 2. omit water and increase both broth and wine by 1/2 cup each 3. I use 2 cans of crabmea, tilapia (instead of cod), and squid 4. Sautee all igredients (except seafood) and simmer about 30 minutes 5. Add one can of crabmeat and simmer another hour to 2 hours (it really allows the flavors to mature) 6. Add second can of crab, then mussels and clams; cook about 5 mins 7. Add shrimp and cook a few seconds, followed by scallops, squid, and finally right before removing from heat add tilapia (or whatever fish you choose)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: d4n12i
Unbelievable. Take great care into what order you put the seafoods in, if you bury the shelled seafood, it won't open right.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Wentworth
Thank you for an excellent recipe. I agree with some changes - no butter no water. Use 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, only 1 can chicken stock, 3 bottles Clam Juice, and a generous pinch of saffron.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: LASAGNA01
I have used this site for years,cooked hundreds of recipes,and NEVER reviewed any of them.....except for now.....THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING!!!!!!After reading the reviews I eliminated the water and substitued it with a bottle of clam juice.I used 2 extra cloves of garlic(cuz i love it),and for the tomatoes used 1 large can crushed and 2 14.5 cans italian stewed.This recipe is expensive but sooooooooooo worth it!Def. a recipe for when you want to show off your culinary skills!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes