My Reviews (613)

Mixed Seafood Stew

This is a stew which originated in San Francisco called cioppino. It's wonderful served with crusty bread for mopping up the lovely juices.
Reviews (613)


Comment:
21 Jul 2008
LISAKP71 said:
Something else. Fantastic!!! I made a few changes. I simmered the stock for over an hour, until we were just about ready to eat, and then added the fish (took order from another recipe) first the clams for about 5 min, till they start to open, then the crab legs (about 1 minute) then the mussels, prawns, squid, scallops and cod. Cook stirring frequently until the mussels open, the prawns curl and the squid and scallops are just firm (about 3 minutes). Everything was cooked just right and the flavour.......wonderful!!! The recipe served 6 adults and we had a little left over. I took some of the stock and cooked some extra prawns in it and then added the rest of the prawns and fish and warmed it up.....it was wonderful even as a leftover.
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
SISSI808 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I hesitated between 4 - 5 stars because this is a really inspired recipe, but I did have a couple of suggestions. I agree with other reviewers that additional fish stock would give it more depth of flavour and I used olive oil, and just a couple knobs of butter. Also, if you are using fresh mussels and clams (as I did), they need to go in about 10 minutes ahead of the other fish, because the prawns, scallops, fish and crab will cook in about 5 minutes. I'd wait until the clams and mussels start to open before adding the rest. I also added a about a 1/2 teaspoon of crushed chillies for a little more heat. I'll definitely make this again.
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
NewCook1 said:
Used different ingredients. This was a very tasty recipe. I used a few of the changes reccomended by other reviewers such as using all wine and no water and I added lobster stock to enhance the seafood flavour. The one thing I will change the next time I make this recipe is to use olive oil instead of butter and reduce the amount of fat to 4 tbsp. The large amount of butter made this recipe very, very rich (the seafood is rich by itself it does not need excess butter) and I noticed a layer of fat on the top of the stew (I did not find this appetising).
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Rebecca
This is hands-down the best recipe we've ever tried on Allrecipes!!!! A few helpful hints if you are going to try this wonderful recipe: Be sure you have a really big pot! You will want to avoid stirring this too much in order to avoid breaking up the meat, so a big pot is critical! Use very dry white wine. A sweet white wine will interfer with the flavour of the seafood, whereas a dry white will compliment the flavour wonderfully! Place the cod in large pieces on top at the very end and cook it quickly. This will ensure that the cod won't break apart and your guests can extract whole pieces to their plates. Cook quickly and serve! If you cook too long the seafood will dry, flake, and lose flavour. The three secrets to success for this recipe: Fresh, Fresh, Fresh seafood! Make this for someone you love. I made it for my Dad and he still raves.
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: PUDDING33
Absolutely incredible! I made the stock a few weeks ago and froze it. I had a dinner party for 8 with the Cioppino and bread for the meal. I thawed the stock, had it hot and simmering and added the seafood and it was ready in a flash. I used scallops and prawns only and it was superb! Every bit was eaten! Definitely let the stock simmer a long time for the depth of flavour. It will be a staple at our house!
 
28 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: ROTED
Fantastic!!! I made a few changes, took some hints from other reviews. Such as, used 1 large can of crushed tomatoes and 1 14.5 oz. can of stewed tomatoes, no water. I also used 1 bottle of clam juice and 1 cup of chicken broth and I added calamari and some extra garlic. I simmered the broth for over an hour, until we were just about ready to eat, and then added the fish (took order from another recipe) first the clams for about 5 min, till they start to open, then the crab legs (about 1 minute) then the mussels, shrimp, squid, scallops and cod. Cook stirring frequently until the mussels open, the shrimp curl and the squid and scallops are just firm (about 3 minutes). Everything was cooked just right and the flavor.......wonderful!!! The recipe served 6 adults and we had a little left over. I took some of the broth and cooked some extra shrimp in it and then added the rest of the broth and fish and warmed it up.....it was wonderful even as a leftover.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: OSuzyQ
Those of you who have read my other ratings know that 4 stars means my family loved it. 5 stars is absolutely above and beyond. This is hands-down the best recipe we've ever tried on All Recipes!!!! A few helpful hints if you are going to try this wonderful recipe: Be sure you have a really big pot! You will want to avoid stirring this too much in order to avoid breaking up the meat, so a big pot is critical! Use very dry white wine. A sweet white wine will interfer with the flavor of the seafood, whereas a dry white will compliment the flavor wonderfully! Don't use flake-style crab meat as it will just disappear in the broth. Either use king crab legs in the shell or precook your crab legs and extract the meat for the soup. (if you use crab legs in the shell, add 1/2 lb to the amount) Place the cod in large pieces on top at the very end and cook it quickly. This will ensure that the cod won't break apart and your guests can extract whole pieces to their plates. Cook quickly and serve! If you cook too long the seafood will dry, flake, and lose flavor. The three secrets to success for this recipe: Fresh, Fresh, Fresh seafood! Make this for someone you love. I made it for my Dad and he still raves.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: florida gail
I hesitated between 4 - 5 stars because this is a really inspired recipe, but I did have a couple of suggestions. I agree with other reviewers that additional fish stock would give it more depth of flavor and I too blanched at all the butter. So used used olive oil, and just a couple tablespoons of butter. Also, if you are using fresh mussels and clams (as I did), they need to go in about 10 minutes ahead of the other fish, because the shrimp, scallops, fish, and crab will cook in about 5 minutes. I'd wait until the clams and mussels start to open before adding the rest. I also added a about a 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes for a little more zest. I'll definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: SANDYLOAM
This was a very tasty recipe. I used a few of the changes reccomended by other reviewers such as using all wine and no water and I added lobster broth to enhance the seafood flavour. The one thing I will change the next time I make this recipe is to use olive oil instead of butter and reduce the amount of fat to 1/4 cup. The large amount of butter made this recipe very, very rich (the seafood is rich by itself it does not need excess butter) and I noticed a layer of fat on the top of the stew (I did not find this appetizing).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Post-It Poet
Wow, this was amazing! It definitely tasted like a restaurant-quality dish. I had a dinner party for 4 people--started with a simple lettuce salad with pine nuts and a lemon-basil dressing. Then we had crab cakes. The cioppino was the main course. (Followed by a creme brulee.) I did make a few changes, but as other people have mentioned, the beauty of this recipe is its flexibility! I like my cioppino very tomato-based, so even though I halved the recipe, I put in a 28-oz can of tomatoes, as well as a 14-oz can of tomato sauce. Also, I used a merlot (red wine) instead of white, because I tend to associate tomato-based dished with a red wine accent. I used a combination of fresh and frozen seafood. I got fresh mussels and a few scallops from Whole Foods, but then I supplemented with a bag of frozen shellfish and some frozen raw shrimp from Trader Joe's. I used fresh basil and a mediterranean seafood seasoning from Whole Foods. Served it with fresh grated parm. cheese on top, fresh ground pepper and a big loaf of fresh, crusty bread. My guests kept talking about it the entire evening! I served a nice Chianti with it, which worked well. My husband and I are both poor graduate students, so we can't afford to make this very often, but we both agreed it was completely worth the price!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes