My Reviews (932)

Rhubarb Tart with Premade Pastry

This is a super simple filling for rhubarb tart or rhubarb turnovers. You can also use puff pastry instead of shortcrust if you prefer.
Reviews (932)


14 May 2002
Reviewed by: ERMB
I have been making great rhubarb pies for 25 years and they always were somewhat soupy. I have tried both tapioca and flour for thickening. This recipe gives the right balance of ingredients to give you a perfect pie. Thanks for a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: LANAIAH
I made this pie using fresh rhubarb and Splenda sugar (used only 1 cup of splenda) and it turned out GREAT!!! I brushed the pie crust with egg and sprinkled lightly with white sugar and it looked as pretty as it tasted! This is definately a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: pammieo
Oh...I wish I'd never tried this...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: Mommyofsix
This was fabulous. I did make some little changes tho--I upped the rhubarb per pie to 6cups (could have done fine with 8 I think), kept sugar at 1 1/3 cup, upped the flour by half for a non-running pie...added 1 tsp cinnamon to the flour/sugar mix, and a few drops of vanilla to the pie all around, before baking..milk and sugar on top before baking made a flaky, crispy top crust--gosh but the kids LOVED THIS, so did the husband...out of vanilla ice cream so used some RediWhip instead. Did 2 of these today, but next time I'll do 3 or 4 on one day. SUPER RECIPE, THANKS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2002
Reviewed by: YLA
This pie is delicious! It's just like my grandmother's. The only thing I forgot to do was put some foil around the edge of the pie crust for the first fifteen minutes to prevent over browning.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Tess
Great basic recipe that does the trick for rhubarb lovers! Perfect combination of tart & sweet. My only suggestion is to brush the top of the pie with one egg mixed with a tbsp water and sprinkle with sugar. Repeat about halfway through. Helps keep the crust from browing too fast and gives it a really sweet crispy finish. LOVE THIS RECIPE!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: J3SCHOEB
I liked this recipe. I tried it with only rhubarb and then the next time with strawberries and rhubarb. It was too sweet when I added strawberries and runny. I recommend using only rhubarb and not adding strawberries. With rhubarb, it was GREAT!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: pancakelover
A nice recipe and practically the same as the one I use, although I prefer to mix the cut-up rhubarb with the flour-sugar mixture and let it stand in a bowl, stirring now and then, while I made the crust. Here are two tips (I've been making pies for over 40 years and they tell me I'm good at it): as a thickener for pies, flour can be unreliable, and I've had several failures using flour as a thickener in rhubarb pie (also in blueberry pie) although in apple pie it always works fine. So for the past 20 years or so I've used Minute Tapioca instead of flour as a thickener in rhubarb, cherry and blueberry pies, and the results are always perfect. No more rhubarb soup! Use half as much tapioca as you would use flour (in this recipe, 3 tablespoons of tapioca instead of the 6 tablespoons of flour.) Another tip: if you feel your rhubarb is not pink enough for an attractive filling, color the sugar pink before using it. Just put a few drops of red food coloring in a bowl, add the sugar and use a whisk to blend, or else put the color and sugar into a container with a tight-fitting lid that you can shake. If it doesn't blend thoroughly, don't worry--once the sugar and rhubarb are mixed and the sugar dissolves, the color will spread evenly in the filling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2011
Reviewed by: AuntB
Oh, I hope all 22,000+ people who have saved this recipe give it a try at least once in their lifetime ... its that wonderful, Carol!! 5-Star plus!! Thanks so much for the best recipe for my favorite pie! Please folks, don't change a thing, don't add a thing. The pie thickens perfectly, the ingredient amounts are just right, the oven time is right on, and the fruit does just fine all on its own for flavor and freshness. You won't be disappointed!! The sugar layer totally makes for an awesome crust and pouring the rest over the fruit doesn't get any easier. Save yourself concerns or worries, don't over think it ... just make as is. I even used Pillsbury refrigerated pie crusts and no one cared ... all raves and so hard to not go back for seconds. But DON'T because next day pie is even better!! Only thing I would mention that I don't believe Carol stated, is after placing hte top crust and sealing the edges, considerd cutting a couple slits in the top for venting. This does help control seepage. Wondering just how much rhubarb my mother-in-law has left in her yard!! :o)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Kristin111
Don't bother with the butter; you don't need it at all. And do NOT--as some other reviewers have suggested--mix up the flour/sugar mixture with the fruit before adding the fruit to the case. The reason you want copious amounts of sugar both on the bottom and on the top of the fruit (rather than mixed amongst it) is that while baking, the bubbling-hot sugar carmelises in contact with the bottom and top pastry, a process which makes the pastry rather crispy in the final product. If you mix the sugar with the fruit, you don't get that crispy pastry, and the large amount of water in the rhubarb will definitely make the bottom crust sodden. Don't worry: the sugar makes its way through the fruit anyway, so you won't have parts too sweet and other parts too tart.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes