My Reviews (932)

Rhubarb Tart with Premade Pastry

This is a super simple filling for rhubarb tart or rhubarb turnovers. You can also use puff pastry instead of shortcrust if you prefer.
Reviews (932)


21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Kristin111
Don't bother with the butter; you don't need it at all. And do NOT--as some other reviewers have suggested--mix up the flour/sugar mixture with the fruit before adding the fruit to the case. The reason you want copious amounts of sugar both on the bottom and on the top of the fruit (rather than mixed amongst it) is that while baking, the bubbling-hot sugar carmelises in contact with the bottom and top pastry, a process which makes the pastry rather crispy in the final product. If you mix the sugar with the fruit, you don't get that crispy pastry, and the large amount of water in the rhubarb will definitely make the bottom crust sodden. Don't worry: the sugar makes its way through the fruit anyway, so you won't have parts too sweet and other parts too tart.
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: A. FRIEND
I liked this recipe. I tried it with only rhubarb and then the next time with strawberries and rhubarb. It was too sweet when I added strawberries and runny. I recommend using only rhubarb and not adding strawberries. With rhubarb, it was GREAT!!!
 
25 May 2009
Reviewed by: tree.oates
This was very yummy, I used rhubarb and a couple of apples. served with ice cream and custard... delicious! next time I would love to make my own pastry.
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: CHRISTINACOX
This pie is delicious! It's just like my gran's. The only thing I forgot to do was put some foil around the edge of the pastry for the first fifteen minutes to prevent over browning.
 
Comment:
13 Nov 2010
laurielion said:
Altered ingredient amounts. add strawberries
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: JT
This recipe gives the right balance of ingredients to give you a perfect result. Cheers!
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: RUBY2
This is definitely a winner!
 
07 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: SweetTooth
Don't bother with the butter; you don't need it at all. And do NOT--as some other reviewers have suggested--mix up the flour/sugar mixture with the fruit before adding the fruit to the pie shell. The reason you want copious amounts of sugar both on the bottom and on the top of the fruit (rather than mixed amongst it) is that while baking, the bubbling-hot sugar carmelizes in contact with the bottom and top crusts, a process which makes the crusts rather crispy in the final product. If you mix the sugar up with the fruit, you don't get that crispy crust, and the large amount of water in the rhubarb will definitely make the bottom crust sodden. Don't worry: the sugar makes its way through the fruit anyway, so you won't have parts of the pie too sweet and other parts too tart.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2005
Reviewed by: L K KLING
I won $100 for 1st prize in a rhubarb pie baking contest with this recipe. The only thing I did different, since I used green rhubarb, was tint the sugar with 2 drops of red food coloring before adding the flour. I also sprinkled a little sugar on top the crust. I used Pie Crust I from this site. Update 5/20/07 I won the rhubarb pie contest and the $100 prize again yesterday with this recipe. Since I made a 10 inch pie, I used 5 cups rhubarb, 1 2/3 cups sugar, 7 1/2 T flour, and 1 T butter. I added 3 drops red food color to the sugar. This pie is definitely a winner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: SCHELLYBEAN
AMAZING PIE!!!! So simple...so easy! I thought for sure that it would turn out too sweet because it seemed like a lot of sugar. But it was perfect! You still get that tart zip of the rhubarb that I love! I also added some cinnamon to the sugar mixture..just because I love that flavor. Make sure to put some of the sugar mixture on the bottom like the recipe states. This forms a layer under the rhubarb while baking, so that the crust doesn't get soggy. My dad said that this pie tastes almost identical to the one his Mom used to make. That alone will make me use this recipe over and over again! Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes