My Reviews (9)

Fried Maori Potatoes with Mushrooms

Maori potatoes sauteed in olive oil with red onion and fresh mushrooms. They are seasoned with chilli flakes, capers and freshly chopped tarragon.
Reviews (9)


20 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: asisa
I just love prurple potatoes. I followed this recipe for the most part except I didn't have mushrooms and I added a little chopped garlic when I sauteed the onions. The fresh terragon added a nice flavor. They tasted fabulous. My husband loved them and asked for more. I will make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: CJElven
I just used standard potatoes, but I found this a very useful recipe as I was cooking for about 16 people, and found that if I cooked the muchrooms and onions ahead of time, I could then put the potatoes in the pan (I added zucchini, as well) and blacken juuust a bit and then put it in the warming oven for just about as long as I wanted to, and the potatoes would just continue to gain flavor and soften while the rest of my dishes cooked. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: S Meyer
Sooo tasty. For a lighter version, I parboiled the potatoes and grilled them with a light olive oil mist. I also added feta cheese crumbles...yummy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Zonian56
I liked it. The tarragon was a nice addition. I like hot and spicy so I added half a seeded scotch bonnet. I increased the tarragon and as I'm not a vegetarian I used bacon fat as my oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2018
Reviewed by: Shari Altman
It was a hit in my house. I used less oil and doubled the red pepper flakes; had to use dried tarragon as I had no fresh. Definitely will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2018
Reviewed by: Bettsi
Very tasty. I made it as written except I didn't have capers. I only had dried tarragon which was fine. I served it with a spicy brown mustard and it was delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: Gabrielle Hartmann
I almost followed the recipe exactly except: I omitted capers and tarragon; I added diced red peppers, dry basil and garlic powder; And I added the red peppers flakes when I first cooked the potatoes, cooking time was about 5 minutes less than suggested. I made Cuban style tostones and added an avocado spread (to which I added, pepper, salt & a lime squeeze to the avocado). And before I scooped potato mixture on top, I diced the cooked the potatoes so there would be bright purple exposed - I only do that for presentation purposes). Makes a great vegetarian side dish or app. I uploaded the picture of the final product
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: Roseann
This was something that I definitely experimented in doing. I didn't add the mushrooms but followed all other steps. It was a pretty good dish, if I make it again I'll definitely be playing around with it some.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: Bea Healthy
Was doubting I'd like this, but it is delicious. It had the substance of a meaty potato hash. I water sauteed, used King Oyster mushrooms and a sweet yellow onion, and used avocado oil to fry baby purple potatoes. Oh, I used about a quarter teaspoon of dried tarragon since I do not have fresh. I'm cooking for one, so I had leftovers and I can't wait to reheat them for breakfast!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes