My Reviews (13)

Chocolate Cresent Biscuits

This is a Hungarian biscuit called kifli, traditionally made in a crescent shape and dipped in chocolate.
Reviews (13)


08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Shirley S.
For those who have no vanilla sugar, see note below from Allrecipes! vanilla sugar Wonderfully fragrant and flavorful sugar made by burying vanilla beans in granulated or confectioners' sugar-usually in the proportion of two beans for each pound of sugar. The mixture is stored in an airtight container for about a week before the vanilla bean is removed. The result is a delicious and perfumy sugar that can be used as an ingredient or decoration for baked goods, fruit and other desserts. Vanilla beans may be reused in this fashion for up to 6 months.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: neuslanjeant
These were really easy to make for my 6 year old daughter and I. We went a little overboard with the melted chocolate... we dipped each cookie until it was half covered!!! We also made our own vanilla sugar: 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/4 tsp vanilla extract in a freezer bag. we let the mixture dry while the dough was sitting. The sugar became clumpy, so we crushed it back to granulated form. It worked perfectly! Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Joni
These were great and easy to make
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Megan
This is a really good recipe. My boyfriend was in charge of cooking for our dinner club, and suggested that we make Hungarian food. He said these tasted just as good as in Hungary. They went well with the Hugarian Goulash I recipe. I couldn't stop eating them, and my sister's family enjoyed them as well. They also look really pretty arranged on a plate. Try them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Jen
My grandma used to make several different types of Hungarian cookies, and these took me right back to her kitchen! They are fun to do with the kids because they can help with several of the steps. I am using them for a Christmas cookie exchange! They are delicious!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MANTABIROSTRIS
These were wonderful and easy! Little mouthfuls of vanilla-cookie-awesomeness. I dipped them in dark chocolate and didn't have any vanilla sugar but used regular granulated sugar. That worked great and they tasted wonderful! Great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: jenneterz1295
I found this recipe here a couple years ago. I was baking cookies for gifts for our family and wanted to find recipes that matched all our different ethnic heritages. My parents are each about 1/2 Hungarian, so my sisters and I are as well, so it was nice to find some Hungarian recipes. These were so melt-in-your-mouth good. Really. I'm thinking of using this recipe for a cookie exchange coming up. The hardest part was coming up with the vanilla sugar. We don't live in an area where it's easy to find ready-made, so I had to find an easy recipe. But the flavor of the cookies is really good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: LUVEDP
SOOOO GOOD. If you like Walkers Shortbread, you'll like these. I make them when I make meringue cookies so I have a use for the egg whites.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: JiYoon
This was a really easy, really yummy cookie! :] It tastes good with or without the chocolate dipping. The only problem I had was making it thin enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Brooke
oh my god!!!! these r so cool!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes