My Reviews (46)

Upside-Down Peach Toffee Cake

Impress your guests with this decadent upside down cake. Fresh peaches covered in a melty caramel toffee of brown sugar and butter top this sinfully delicious cake.
Reviews (46)


28 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: SKYRA
A *huge* hit with everyone! I've made this about 6 times now and have found that as long as you make sure the cake batter is level with the cake pan you're using (before you put it in the oven), it'll cook to perfection with the least amount of mess. I use frozen peaches on top and fold about 1/2 cup of fresh blueberries into the cake batter. I find that frozen fruit works best; try and pick a 'sturdy' fruit for the top (tried frozen strawberries once and they went to virtual mush).I *triple* wrap my pan with aluminum foil and put it on a cookie sheet for extra spillage. I have an old school springform pan that doesn't have the buckles, which seems to work better than a regular springform pan. Be *very* careful when lifting off the aluminum foil from the pan; the caramel sauce is very hot! This is totally a keeper! Thanks for a scrumptuous recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MLNOLE
I used a 9x13 pan for about 50 minutes and it came out perfect. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Osha Wildling
What a great cake! It's moist, light, not too sweet and has an absolutely delicious caramelized top. I used a deep angel food cake pan which worked perfectly. I also followed other reviewers suggestions and lined a pan with foil for the cake pan to sit on. Great for clean up! I found that using that kind of pan meant I only had to bake it for 65 minutes so be sure and check for doneness sooner than indicated in the recipe. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: ARANDYGAIL
I made this with peaches and my family thought it was very good. Watch the temperature, though; I only had to bake it for 75 min.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: Maggie
I substituted a raspberry/marionberry/blueberry mix for the peaches, calorie-free sweetener for sugar, and egg substitute for eggs, and the recipe was still fabulous! I also halved the recipe, because I cooked for just me husband and myself (cooking time was just 45 minutes). I used a 9" springform pan, and even though I wrapped foil around it, as soon as I inverted the cake after baking, berry juice dripped everywhere, making quite a mess for me to clean up. However, the flavor and texture were fabulous - and light vanilla ice cream made a great addition!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: M. Stoffel
Fantastic. I made the cake portion as directed, and thought it was perfect. In the baking recipes I'm familiar with brown sugar is measured "packed", so I did that for the topping here too - that gave a little too much to the (heavenly) sauce, next time I'll just measure the two cups out - chalk that up to the inexperienced baker. I also didn't bother to measure the peaches, just sliced and arranged them until the pan was full which seemed to work wonderfully. Not having the deep 10" pan I used an 8x11, which JUST BARELY held the cake and still leaked some sauce in the oven: a 9x13 should work great next time. The 8x11 needed just under an hour for bake time. Very rich, satisfying, impressive and simple enough to turn out - thanks very much for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2005
Reviewed by: Lece
I covered a cookie sheet in tin foil and placed the pan on top of that. It was so nice to just throw that mess in the garbage.. The cake itself was really nice, I used peach and raspberry. Next time I'm thinking of putting peach inside the cake, raspberry on top and less caramel. I also think I'll cut the recipe in half and put it in a springform-bundt pan, just so it looks nicer. The women at work all loved this recipe and I will make it often. Thank you!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: emma
I made this cake to send out to the field. Everybody loved it and it turned out great. I used canned peaches and just drained them well instead of fresh... was a smashing hit... thanks for recipe... my boyfriend rated it a 9.8... he doesn't give tens... was told to make sure i put this one in my favorites
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: prell2k4
I made this this weekend and it was a hit for my 18 year old son who doesn't like sweets and my boyfriend who does. I read the reviews and decided to make it in two pans, it came out good but would have been ok to make in one pan. I think my pan is deep enough to support the full amount. This is a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Stephanie
I can't believe I haven't rated this yet. I have made it several times and it was always a hit. I use a non-stick bundt pan and bake it 45-50 minutes and it is perfect. No dripping, either.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes