My Reviews (206)

Vegetarian Chilli Burgers

Vegetarian chilli sin carne with kidney beans, tomatoes, carrots and capsicum all stuffed inside a hollowed out bread roll makes a great meal for kids and adults alike.
Reviews (206)


10 Sep 2006
My fiance and I really enjoyed this... but I made some changes based on what other reviewers said. First of all, I made 16 servings instead of 8 and froze half. It froze and reheated really well! I would definitely recommend this. It is so easy to go ahead and double the recipe, and a huge time-saver b/c of all the vegetables you have to chop. Secondly, I added more vinegar to mine... I felt it gave the recipe more of the characteristic sloppy joes flavor. I went ahead and added twice the amount. I also only added 1/2 the amount of chili powder the recipe calls for, and 1/2 the amount of black pepper. I like spicy stuff, but all that pepper was still a little too overpowering for my tastes and it took away from the other flavors in the recipe. Overall, this is really filling and even sort of fun to eat too, especially with the kaiser rolls!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Nikki Filippone
"The best vegetarian food I have EVER tasted"..."A meat lover's perfect non-meat meal"... those were some of the wonderful things my boyfriend was saying as he was eating his. He was almost in shock at how great they were (he's a carnivore at heart). I thought they were spectacular as well... and being a vegetarian myself, I was able to appreciate them even more. I made a few alterations to the recipe though... my favorite alteration was using a red pepper instead of a green pepper. I think it added just a tiny bit of sweetness to an otherwise super-spicy dish. It also livened it up with more red color. I left out the celery because I didn't have any, but truthfully, I think it wouldn't have been as good with it. Since I didn't have any diced tomatoes, I added 2, 8oz cans of tomato sauce (which I think was a wonderful substitution). I also followed previous suggestions not to put in so much chili powder, so I put in 1 1/2 teaspoons instead of 1 1/2 tablespoons. This was absolutely the right decision. Even a drop more chili powder and it would have been way too spicy. The best part was that my boyfriend was complaining when he was done that he was too full. That is by far the biggest compliment of them all, because he's rarely full after eating a vegetarian meal. This is DEFINITELY becoming a staple in my diet. I couldn't be more pleased.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: KELEKITCHEN
I doubled the recipe, oh my, way much more than needed. Good recipe. I gave 5 stars as it is hard to find healthy recipes that taste pleasing. This is one and it deserves 5 stars. I added a bit of tomato puree as i wanted a stronger tomato flavor and cut back a bit on the chili powder as previously recommended and i ended up with an excellent sloppy joe. Thanks for helping me to cook fabulous vegetarian dishes. Alongside a green salad with walnuts, this is a great nutritious meal. Definately in my new recipe file of things to make over and over.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: DEVINT
Made this a couple of nights ago and, yes, it IS delish! I didn't have any kaiser rolls though, so we just ate them on wheat buns like normal sloppy joes. My dad couldn't put his finger on it, but he's never tasted anything quite like this stuff. I'm surprised at how spicy it was-- usually I leave pepper and added salt out, but I was afraid this would be bland, so at t?e last minute I went ahead and added the black pepper. Wooo-EEE! It's not terribly spicy, but I think it would be perfectly tasty with a little less. I'm returning to dorm life tomorrow, but I will make this again next time I am home. Right now I am eating the left overs over brown rice and topped with light cheddar cheese. It's pretty good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: CONSTANTREADER1
This recipe was delicious and very filling. All the other vegetarian Sloppy Joe recipes I tried had TVP or veggie ground round, and they were too rich and not filling. I think the 1 1/2 tablespoons of chili powder in the recipe was too much; next time I'll reduce it to 1 1/2 teaspoons. The recipe was easy to follow and this makes a great meal with a large, green salad. Even my husband was filled up by two rolls and the Unsloppy Joe mix, and he doesn't fill up easily! I will definitely make this again. Thanks, Karen.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: LoveToCook
This is great! Even my carnivore husband found them delicious and has asked for them again. I play around with the spices to suit our tastes. I add more chili powder and a couple of dashes worcestershire sauce to darken the flavor. I also leave out the celery since we hate celery. I serve it on regular hamburger buns with mustard and chips on the side. Have already made this recipe several times and will continue to do so. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: Loves to cook
I made this dish for a lunch get together with a bunch of moms and it received rave reviews. I served it over rice and lessened the chili powder to 1 tbsp. I prefer it over the real sloppy joe anyday.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Joyousfreee
This was good, but way more like a veggie chili than a sloppy joe. I loved how inexpensive it was. I already had the spices, onion and celery, bought everything else and some nice big wheat rolls for around $8.00. It also went well in a wheat pita for smaller portions. Also it was just as good as a leftover.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: ebell83
Definitely needs cheese added to make it stick together a little better. I added Monterrey Jack and that was a great finishing touch. Otherwise, it ends up much like just putting chili on a bun.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: RAZZMATAZZ
My boyfriend couldn't eat this; he said that it tasted of nothing but chili pepper. I thought that it was all right but I don't think I'll make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes