My Reviews (113)

Cheese and Turkey Bake

This delicious dish can be assembled in advance and frozen: heat covered dish at 180 degrees C for 1 1/2 hours.
Reviews (113)


12 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: CPN701
A great way to use leftover turkey but....you either need to make 1 1/2- 2 times the sauce or use only only 1/2 the amouobt of pasta. Not enough sauce for 1 lb of pasta. Wonderful dish...i know I will make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Juliema
Yummy! I added white cooking wine like a previous person mentioned. I also added a bit of chicken broth. Added my own spices in addition to those called for (basil, oregano, tarragon, salt, and crushed black pepper) to the onions and mushrooms along with a clove of fresh garlic. I will definately make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: SWEST2419
This is a good recipe. Used one cup milk and one cup half and half for a creamier sauce. Cut the pasta in half, as the last time I made this it came out too dry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Minnie's Cookbook
I was looking for a 30+ year old recipe when I found this one. I read the recipe and a couple of the reviews before making it. I followed Juliema's advice and added basil, tarragon, oregano and used half & half instead of milk. I also used 12 oz. of egg noodles because I had them on hand, but they are too heavy for this recipe. It still needed a little more milk (and 1/2 the pasta), but it was absolutely delicious! I will note the additions I made and make it again for the rest of the turkey leftovers. Spray your casserole dish first; makes a lot, so as one other person said, put it in 2 pans and freeze one for later if there are not at least 4 of you. Great with fresh homemade bread and butter!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: reachkimo
This was so darn good. I did make some changes though. I sauteed 1 onion, 1 tsp garlic and a pack of mushrooms in 2 tablespoons butter. After it cooks for a few minutes I added 3 tablespoons red wine vinegar and 1/4 cup white cooking wine and let simmer. This adds so much flavor. I tend to cook a lot with the red wine vinegar. I added the mustard and chicken broth ( I use the granular) and let simmer until tender. Then I added the flour and I used half and half. after it was thickened, I added the turkey and cooked noodles and stirred it all together and poured it into a large glass pan. I do not put cheese in the sauce I put it all on top so it can melt. I then broil it at the end for about 3 minutes or until the cheese is crispy. My girls keep asking for this over and over. I just made it 4 days ago and now making it again by request. Thank you for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: Caroline
I used reduced fat cheese, 1% milk, and 12 ounces of pasta, instead of 16, and I think it turned out great. The recipe didn't indicate whether I should grease the caserole dish, so I sprayed it lightly with cooking spray and it was very easy to serve (no sticking). I baked it covered for the first 15 minutes, then uncovered it for the last 10 minutes. It's a great, unique way to use leftover turkey, but I think it would be great with chicken as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: daniel
I substituted the cheddar with 1/2 cup each of parmesan and romano. I added: as recommended in other reviews; tarragon, basil, oregano. I left out pimentos, added mushrooms, and finished it in two days licking my lips.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Jil Weixelman Phlipot
I have made this recipe for years. I add 2 tablespoons of sherry to the mixture after I add the cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Islandartist
Okay this was a great recipe and though I made some revisions due to lack of ingredients last minute, it was wonderful! I used a can of cheddar cheese soup (with one can of milk) instead of the home made sauce (as a previous reviewer mentioned) and I didn't have any pimentos so I threw in a 1/4 C of salsa for some flavour. Also I only needed to use ONE package of pasta and it was almost too much. Even with my changes the recipe was fabulous and my picky kids were fighting over the left overs!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: ambibambi
This was OK, but the poultry seasoning was a little overpowering, so next time I will reduce it. Also, there was way too much pasta! I made the amount called for in the recipe, and I ended up only using half of it or it would have been way too much. I will make this again, but I will play around with the seasonings a bit, add some flavor other than the poultry seasoning.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes