My Reviews (155)

Easy Turkey Onion Burgers

The secret to this recipe is instant onion soup mix. Serve on hamburger buns with lettuce, tomatoes and condiments.
Reviews (155)


15 May 2002
We usually don't like onion soup mix (it can be a little too strong flavor and salty) but it works great in this recipe. We BBQ grilled and we liked the flavor a lot! I skipped adding the salt.I think the 1/2 c water (not only to hydrate the dry soup mix) added important moisture that helps bind the meat together, so I would not skip that. Also, FYI, we think it is important to use a quality ground turkey.We like "Turkey Store" "Jennie O" extra lean brand. It doesn't seem to have that odd after-taste that some do. We will definitely make turkey burgers this way again and again. Great simple recipe Krickett!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2003
Reviewed by: American Beauty
We liked these a lot. Just the "kick" for plain turkey. I had read others' reviews first, so I omitted the salt. First I mixed the water, onion soup mix and pepper, then mixed the ground Jennie O turkey in it, and let it sit for about 10 minutes. Lacking the motivation/energy to put the burgers (l lb. made 5 4-oz. patties) on the Weber, I made them on my George Foreman grill: 8 minutes at 300 degrees (my GF lets me set the temperature separately for each half of the grill). They were done to perfection. We'll have this again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: LNELSONINDY
Excellent recipe. I omitted the salt as the soup mix was salty enough. I mixed the water, soup mix and pepper together and soaked the turkey patties in the mixture for 10 minutes. Then I grilled them on a stovetop grill pan, making sure some of the onions from the soup mix stayed on the burgers. They were delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: KATHLEENJOHN
Never tried turkey burgers before and am very glad I finally did! I took some tips from a few other reviews and omitted the salt (soup mix salty enough) and I patted them in breadcrumbs and fried on stove in a touch of olive oil. Everyone had seconds - no leftovers . Thank you Krickett!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Velros4u
This recipe was wonderful and easy to make. My husband loved it! I had made a switch to turkey instead of the usual ground beef for a healthy alternative and he was surprised to find out that turkey can be so delicious! I alter the recipe just a tad, I left out the salt since the soup mix was salty as is, I added 1/2 cup of bread crumbs and 2 Tbs. garlic powder since my husband is a garlic freak. This has now become our usual dish to make. Thumbs Up!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Tiffani Peoples
I don't usually care for turkey burgers, but I thought I'd give this a try. I used onion & mushroom soup and cooked the burgers on the stove along with some mushrooms. It was delicious! I will definitely make this again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Jillian
I left out the water and the salt, as there is enough salt in the onion soup mix. I added 1 Tbsp. of lite soy sauce and a little garlic powder and let the patties rest for a half hour after making them. These went great on multi-grain rolls.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: BENCAMZOE
Sorry, but I thought these were terrible. Even the addition of fresh parsley and some breadcrumbs plus lots of ketchup, mustard and pickles couldn't save these "burgers".
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: AmandaB
These were really good and moist. They are what they are - turkey burgers with onion flavor. But husband really enjoyed and they were very moist! We ate them plain with some cheese and ketchup, as well as in flour tortillas. A good recipe for the first-time turley griller, like us!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: BEAN75
Great flavor and easy to make :-) Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes