My Reviews (20)

Easy Cinnamon Sultana Bread

Because the dough for this bread is kept in the fridge, you can keep it for about 2 weeks wrapped in clingwrap. That way you can have fresh bread or rolls anytime.
Reviews (20)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
FUNKIM said:
Something else. I tried this bread. I am looking for a good bread to use to make homemade french toast. I didn't add the sultanas this time. The dough was almost soupy when I went to put it in the fridge. I left it in my mixer bowl because of that. To my surprise, it did rise a little by morning. I had to add almost 250 - 300g of flour to it to get it to a rolling or patting consistancy. My Kitchen Aid worked great for this! I can't imagine using a hand mixer. As someone else said, it does make a lot of dough so I made two breads out of it. The sugar/cinnamon topping is enough for 2 breads. It baked for 25 minutes and looked nice. I let them cool and I sliced them. They tasted great! They sliced nice, had good consistancy. Good I think for french toast. I was a little disapointed that there didn't seem to be more cinnamon flavour. I may increase the cinnamon another 1-2 tsp. I upped the amount I put in to 1 tbsp. I think it needs more. Also, maybe adding more topping to the dough may help as well. Overall, I'm very pleased with this recipe. It takes a while, but the results are worth it. I WILL make this again!!!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
MS.CHEF said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I have yet to taste the finished bread, but the dough tastes wonderful! :o) My dough was way too 'soft'- it wasn't even really dough!- so I had to use extra flour. I like that this recipe can be prepared the night before and then just pressed out, rolled up, and baked in the morning- fits my lifestyle very well!!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
JOSIE said:
Used different ingredients. This bread has an amazing taste and is very soft textured. I had to modify if a bit, I only used 2 1/4 tsps of yeast ( 1 sachet) and used 4T brown sugar and 4T caster, also to the dough I add 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and added my sultanas. In the morning I rolled this out to make 2 loaves instead of one. I felt this recipe made a lot of dough. I had to bake mine at 200 for about 55 minutes. I will make this again but continue to try to improve it... overall pretty good. I liked using buttermilk. Thanks
 
05 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: JKLUENDER
I tried this bread. I am looking for a good bread to use to make homemade french toast. I didn't add the raisins this time. The dough was almost soupy when I went to put it in the fridge. I left it in my mixer bowl because of that. To my surprise, it did rise a little by morning. I had to add 2-1/2 to 3 cups of flour to it to get it to a rolling or patting consistancy. My Kitchen Aid worked great for this! I can't imagine using a hand mixer. I also substituted powdered buttermilk for the liquid buttermilk. As someone else said, it does make a lot of dough so I made two breads out of it. The sugar/cinnamon topping is enough for 2 breads. I let it rise again after it went into the pans for an hour in a warm oven as an experiement to see if it would rise at all again. Well, it rose beautifully! I was afraid all that mixing in of the extra flour would have killed the yeast. I'm glad it didn't. Now to bake it. It baked for 25 minutes and looked nice. I let them cool and I sliced them. They tasted great! They sliced nice, had good consistancy. Good I think for french toast. I was a little disapointed that there didn't seem to be more cinnamon flavor. I may increase the cinnamon another 1-2 tsp. I upped the amount I put in to 1 tbsp. I think it needs more. Also, maybe adding more topping to the dough may help as well. Overall, I'm very pleased with this recipe. It takes a while, but the results are worth it. I WILL make this again!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Roxanne J.R.
This is the first time I have made a yeast bread which came out so soft! The batter for the first half of the recipe remained pretty soft and could not be rolled into a ball. I just covered it up with some plastic wrap in the bowl and it rose perfectly! I did not measure how much more flour I added into the risen dough but I left my dough pretty soft still. I rolled out the dough on a piece of parchment paper on a baking sheet and proceeded with the recipe using cinnamon sugar instead of plain cinnamon. Unfortunately because I left the dough so soft, it started t spread out on the cookie sheet so I just lifted the parchment paper into a bread pan and let it bake as the recipe stated. I rubbed some butter over the top when it finished baking and it soaked in giving it a nice buttery-cinnamon taste through the whole bread! It keeps well in the fridge when wrapped in plastic wrap. All I do is lightly toast a slice and it is perfect! Great breakfast bread!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: KombatKat
The bread is great. Caveat: The recipe makes too much for one loaf. Impossible to get it to bake all the way through. Divided the dough into two loafs, and they came out a good size -- still quite large. Baked for about 60 mins -- 35 is nowhere near enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Melanie C.
I have yet to taste the finished bread, but the dough tastes wonderful! :o) My dough was way too 'soft'- it wasn't even really dough!- so I had to use extra flour. I wanted it somewhat wholesome, so I used 3 1/2 cups unbleached flour and 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour. Then I had to add another 1 1/2 cups for it to actually be kneadable. I only used one package of yeast, and 1/2 cup raisins. I mixed 1/4 cup into the dough and then spread the remaining 1/4 cup on before rolling. I like that this recipe can be prepared the night before and then just pressed out, rolled up, and baked in the morning- fits my lifestyle very well!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: RE_BEKAH
This bread has an awesome tastes and is very soft textured, like that of bread you get in a store. I had to modify if a bit, I only used 2 1/4 tsps of yeast( 1 packet) and used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white, also to the dough I add 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and added my raisins. In the morning I rolled this out to make 2 loaves instead of one. I felt this recipe made a lot of dough. I had to bake mine at 400 for about 55 minutes. I will make this again but continue to try to improve it... overall pretty good. I liked using buttermilk. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: pomplemousse
This is pretty good bread, but it makes way more than 1 loaf of bread . . .unless you have huge bread pans. I was able to get 6 huge cinnamon rolls and two medium sized loaves out of one batch. I think I'd halve it next time; it just makes way too much! I didn't use the overnight rise method because I had time to make it in its entirety yesterday, so that's what I did. I definitely had to add more flour; I think it was about 2 cups when all was said and done, so the ratio of liquid to dry ingredients is off. However, when making bread it's also dependent on the humidity at the time you make it, so the ratio is not always accurate from day to day. This is a light, mild white bread that works well as a dessert loaf. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Shirlee Lemley
I love this recipe! I added cinnamon to the dough and sprinkled with brown sugar,cinnamon and walnuts instead of white sugar and raisins. Tastesd better than my mom's old fashioned nut roll! thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes