My Reviews (40)

Tuna Vegetable Casserole

This variant on the classic tuna casserole contains lots of greens like kale, capsicum and celery. You can use whatever vegies you prefer.
Reviews (40)


06 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: soooz
Great recipe! I altered some of the ingredients as I didn't have everything required, but it was still ended up tasting great: * didn't have the soup, so used milk; * added a dash of chilli powder; & * used broccoli instead of kale. I also more than doubled the pasta required (must have bigger appetites than the author!). March 23, 2008 - I have made this recipe several more times with all the ingredients to hand, except I cannot source Kale. Continued using broccoli instead - tastes fantastic. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: JenniferC
This recipe was amazing! It has now become a new kale favorite. We have an abundance of kale in our garden right now and we will be making this again for sure. I followed the recipe closely and I found that the cooking times for the veggies were too long. I used Campbells Gardennay's Leek and potato soup and some homemade veggie stock. It turned out beautifully. For the next time I might broil the dish for a few minutes to brown the cheese a bit. It might be good with a combination of mozzarella and cheddar or some parm. Yummy, yummy, yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: CLEO
This is very good. I used cream of asparagus soup in place of the leek soup and escarole in place of the kale. Very yummy. Will definately be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: szzn1225
Simple and awesome! I bought organic Potato & leek soup, used dry white wine instead of sherry, spinach instead of kale, 1 onion, 2 cans tuna, knorr Vegetable bullion (whole cube) and jarred roasted red peppers (they're really pretty good), organic 100% semolina penne, We bumped up the mozzarella from 1/4 to 1/2 lb and used the whole milk version. It came out great!!! Will definitely make this again!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Kristy Nordeen
This was great! I have a bunch of kale that needed to be used up and this fit the bill perfectly. I did do a few substitutions: I omitted the sherry (the kale steamed itself just fine without any liquid added to the veggies); I didn't have potato leek soup, so I used a can of condensed cream of potato soup instead; I didn't have vegetable stock so I used 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup of whole milk. It turned out creamy and had lots of flavor. Thanks for the recipe! It sure beats Tuna Helper
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Allyson Bowling
i thought this was really great as an easy, fast weeknight meal. i doubled the tuna and kale (we love both) and subbed parmesan for the mozzarella. very good and very adaptable, especially in terms of making it healthy/lo-fat. thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: rent
I really enjoyed the Kale. Fould the flavour a little light. Kids did not like it (Kale) but the adults did. Would cook again but add a bit more cream soup and tuna.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Shadow
Everyone liked it. I made a few minor changes for what I had on hand (& to make it Gluten Free To make GF I first sprayed glass 9 x 13 dish w/olive oil then put 12 oz Schaar GF penne pasta in the bottom UNCOOKED (GF pasta won’t stand much cooking). I sautéed onion, celery, red bell pepper, garlic together (still tender crisp), added salt, pepper, 1/4 C red wine (it's what I had open), 8 oz frozen chopped spinach, 1 sprig of fresh basil & 3 or 4 stems cilantro chopped and simmered on medium heat covered until the spinach was thawed abt 2 or 3 min. Next, stirred in about 1/2 of a small steamed cauliflower left from the night before along with the salmon. Spread the mixture evenly over the top of the uncooked pasta (in the casserole dish), poured 16 oz ‘Imagine’ brand Potato Leek soup on the top, next 1 ½ C chicken stock (extra b/c pasta wasn't cooked before hand), sprinkled top with a generous cup of Daia (nondairy) Cheddar Cheese followed by 1/3 Gluten Free bread crumbs. I misread directions - preheated and baked at 350 instead of 375 needed 30 minutes instead of 25 for the pasta to be cooked al dente, but then I put it in uncooked too. All in all my kind of recipe, healthy, easy, one dish, and liked by all! I gave only 4 stars b/c I think it needs more than 8 oz pasta & 1 can of fish per 8 people.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: CaperWest
Great recipe! This came out a bit bland for my taste the first time but the 2nd time I followed another reviewer's suggestion and added chili powder. DH loved it, usually hates tuna cass. I just sprinkled about 1 tsp on the top of the casserole and it gave it great flavour! Also, will use 2 cans soup next time as I like a bit more sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: Tannis
Great recipe! I made a few changes based in my cupboards *Spaghetti instead of penne *Chicken broth instead of vegetable *Corn flake crumbs with a flavouring of lemon herb seasoning instead of herbed bread crumbs *Tabasco (to your liking) on top of cheese before bread crumb topping *mix of mozzarella and mostly white cheddar *arugula (fresh bunched) instead of kale I look forward to making this again with kale as called for... But wouldn't change my other choices. Recipe could easily handle 2 cans of tuna For a particular flavour... Any 'cream of' soup could substitute well Bon appetit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes