My Reviews (43)

Tuna and Chickpea Salad with Feta

If you like you can also add drained, chopped artichoke hearts to this simple but super filling tuna salad.
Reviews (43)


03 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
This was freaking awesome. Really super yummy. I actually ate all four servings, just right out of the bowl, but I'm not ashamed. Everything went together perfectly and seriously was a party in my mouth. YUM, DUDE! Next time, I'd like to try this stuffed in a hollowed out tomato or red pepper, and adding the artichoke hearts as suggested by the recipe's author. NOTE: I did use organic ingredients when I could and a small lemon. I rolled the lemon on the countertop while pushing down slightly so I could get the most juice out of it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: FTLSWEETIE
This was absolutely fantastic! I made it to the recipe. My only substitutions were adding lemon peel from the fresh lemon and since I didn't have tuna in olive oil, I used two packets of low-sodium tuna + 1 Tbsp Olive Oil. I also went with the author's suggestion of adding drained, chopped artichoke hearts. Since my husband is on Phase 1 of South Beach, we served this over lettuce and it made a perfect light dinner on a hot, summer night. The lemon gives the perfect amount of brightness and the red onion that added zing! Thank you so much for a fabulous recipe!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Cabinluvn
Very light and filling. I always use tuna in water and it was still very flavorful. It really didn't even need salt and pepper as the onion added so much. Will keep in my favorites file. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: quita524
Easy to make and really tasty. I hate olives, so I added onion and red bell pepper. I'll have a little in a pita for lunch tomorrow. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Norcat
This was quite good but I added a few things that for my taste made it GREAT. I added capers, lemon zest, sundried tomatoes, English cucumber. Didn't have red onion substituted yellow onion and didn't have fresh parsley. Husband loved it too! He didn't know he liked chickpeas! This will be a regular dis at our house.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: zipadeedoodah
The BEST tuna salad EVER. This should be renamed "Tuscan Tuna Salad." I made a double batch the first time I tried this (used 3 cans tuna). Added a full 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice (3 lemons). Added 1 c. chopped artichoke hearts (they were oil packed and even drained added enough oil to my tuna canned in water to achieve moistness and good flavor). Don't eat this salad until it has melded for a day. Absolutely unbelievably bright, fresh, satisfying...all who tried consumed huge quantities. Excellent to use for stuffing in a vine ripened tomato. I would not delete any of the ingredient...especially the fresh parsley and in the full amount called for. This particular combination of zingy red onion, salty black olives (used kalamata for a total tuscan treat), fresh zesty parsley, zippy fresh lemons, robust chickpeas and good old tuna absolutely LOVE each other. The feta is just the crown jewel. GO Krissy G!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Snooky
I live alone and have a very busy job, plus I am Type II diabetic so I needed to find some recipes that would be not just healthy but very quick and easy to make. This is, hands down, the best thing I have found yet. I experimented a bit by throwing in a stalk of celery, and some good quality hot salsa, and it was as delicious as anything I've tasted in years!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: inamendesmin
VERY healthy and satisfying dish. I got tuna from Trader Joes marinaded with lemon and salt/pepper instead of adding it to the salad. I would suggest using only 1/4 of red onion. Delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: amandak23k
Not sure what makes this salad so good, but it is delicious!!! The only thing I left out was the black olives because I didn't have any on hand. I added some fresh diced jalapeno to give it a little kick. I didn't have the tuna in oil so I just added a little oil (you can control how much oil this way). Yummmy will be making this again. I didn't have much feta cheese, def. use the feta makes it so much better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: rngray
This sounded so... interesting... but I have to say it is pretty good. I don't really like tuna but it's good for you so I'm trying to eat it. I used tuna in water, drained and then added olive oil. I also used 2 cans of tuna, omitted the onion and used onion powder instead, dried parsley 4 oz of feta cheese. It's pretty good in Ritz crackers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes