My Reviews (60)

Orange Kumara Chips

Kumara chips are a great option when plain old chips just won't do it. This recipe spices it up with a wee bit of lime zest, chilli and coriander.
Reviews (60)


15 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Sandy Cramer
This was really good. Instead of boiling the potatoes, I put them in the microwave until fork tender (about 10 minutes) Then I let them cool and sliced them in wedges and baked. Another family favorite. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: bitterquill
These were very good! I would have given 5 stars except the original recipe has far too much salt (and I *love* salt). I halved the salt and added 1/8 tsp granulated garlic and 1/16 tsp black pepper to the seasoning blend. I didn't bother pre-boiling, just cut the potatoes in smaller wedges (I've also done slices and both work well), and I didn't salt/pepper them before I added the oil and seasoning blend. The (altered, less salty) blend is very tasty and smells beautiful. I saw a few reviews saying these were bland or that there wasn't enough seasoning...all I can say is that they must positively *load* their seasonings on! I use lots of seasonings and almost always have to add extra to any recipe I make, and this recipe made *twice as much seasoning blend as I needed.* I had to make an extra batch of potatoes to use it all up (which wasn't a huge issue, since they are so tasty). At the full salt level with the original number of potatoes, the saltiness would be extreme and I can't imagine how anyone could find it bland. It just goes to show how subjective cooking can be.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: bardbrik
Perfect combination of spices. Kids loved it too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2012
Reviewed by: DomesticEngineer
These are really good. It's a lot less work if you cut up the potatoes, toss them with all the seasonings, and roast them in the oven. I cut mine into bite-sized pieces and baked them uncovered at 450 F for about 15 minutes. They were perfect, moist and flavorful. Use Japanese sweet potatoes, which have a milder flavor on their own, if you really want the seasoning to shine. These are very good the next day (I could taste the lime more than on the potatoes fresh out of the oven), and also good served cold.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Heather
These had a really good, unique flavor. The majority of my family really liked them, with the exception being the kids who just don't really care for sweet potatoes in general. If there were a 4 1/2 option I would pick it. My only complaint is that they were mushy as other reviews have stated and I didn't boil them ahead of time after reading them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Clarissa Chapman Spehl
I must have boiled my sweet potatoes for too long because they never crisped. I really do like the seasoning and will try again with a different hand on the baking/boiling part.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: bzannie
While it's a little tricky to get the texture just right, I am in love with this seasoning blend. I tried to double the recipe the first time, which I think is what made the oven too steamy to get the crisp brown texture. Second time I gave them their space and baked on a darker cookie sheet - SO yummy! Also try putting your tray nearer the heating element if you're having trouble getting them brown and crispy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: ClaireJemima
Delicious seasoning! the lime zest was so good. Cooking them took twice as long, however i have a gas stove so it generally takes a bit longer anyways. I chopped up the sweet potato (in the recipe it doesn't say how big the potatos to be used are) so that it would saturate more evenly, and next time i'm going to do it for less time and use smaller potatos. I dipped these in miso gravy and they were SO GOOD. i'm going to make them again tomorrow and use smaller potato's, and cut the fries smaller, and bake for longer. yum yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Dave W.
Tasty !
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: alwaysmoonie
After reading the reviews, I give this recipe five stars for two reasons. The first reason is because I love sweet potatoes and they are more healthier than potatoes. The second reason is because after I baked them, they were very tasty and healthy!! I even don't feel guilty! I skipped the step---boiling the potatoes. I didn't have lime and cilantro on hand. I used the lemon with the juice to squeeze over the potatoes. My husband and I enjoyed them with the hot dogs. My 9 years old son said it was okay as he rather have regular fries. Very yummy!! Two Big Thumbs!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes