My Reviews (25)

Tortellini Pasta Salad with Tomato Vinaigrette

This tortellini salad is entirely dependent on the quality of the ingredients so try to get the best quality salami and provolone cheese.
Reviews (25)


19 May 2001
Reviewed by: CRISPINO
Don't be turned off by all the ingredients. You probably have them all in your kitchen. Quite easy to prepare. Need mini food chopper or food processor. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: pomplemousse
This recipe is outstanding. I made a lot of unintentional substitutions to use what I had on hand so I wouldn't have to go to the grocery store. I didn't have tomato paste, so I just omitted it. I subbed shredded mozzarella for the provolone, 1 beefsteak tomato for the 3 roma tomatoes, spinach and cheese tortellini for the rainbow tortellini, pepperoni for the salami, orange bell pepper for the red, and dried herbs for the fresh (I just used about 1/2 as much, maybe less). I completely forgot the lemon juice, even though it was right on the counter in front of me. LOL! I do think that this recipe makes too much vinaigrette--I only used half, and it was plenty to coat the salad and provide excellent flavor. It would be good for regular salad, too, so I put the rest in the fridge to use later, but I would halve it next time. I didn't add salt and pepper to the final product, although I did add some to the vinaigrette. I don't think you need much salt and pepper if at all--plenty of other flavors going on in this salad!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: lisa j
I loved this. I made it for a 4th of July barbeque. I actually made it the night before and put in the fridge without the dressing. That I made in a food processor and poured into the cruet that comes with good seasoning dressing. While it does not hold every drop, you don't need it all anyway. About an hour before serving, I took it out of the fridge and pour about half the dressing on it. Once it came to room temp, I poured about half what was left on it so it was moist but not soggy. Everyone loved it. The tomato based vinergarette was a nice change. The only subs I made were changing out the provolone with mozzarella and omitting rosemary. Purely personal taste. There are alot of ingredients but it's stuff you probably have anyway. Glad I made it the day before because it was a little time consuming. Thanks Nicole!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: NekoCooks
This was a great side for a hot summer night. It says to serve warm, but I let it sit in the fridge for an hour or two before dinner, letting the flavors really sink in. I also made the following changes: I halved the dressing recipe, but still used 2.5 tomatoes, I added sauteed mushrooms, used red, green and yellow peppers, I omitted the tomato paste and fresh spices because I was out and added red pepper flakes and lots of freshly ground pepper. Instead of grating the provolone, I cut up little cubes adding even more texture and flavor. I think you could add any a variety of vegetables to this recipe and the dressing could be used for a variety of things as well! I would make this recipe again. UPDATE: I made this once again cutting up cubes of provolone, but also added mozzarella balls and used herb paste. Once again, delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2000
Reviewed by: LINDA ANDERSON
I love this salad!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: MJ SCHALK
Excellent salad, we like this as our main dish and some fresh baked bread on the side. Thank you for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Singer6
This had really good flavor. Great recipe. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2007
Reviewed by: MIsMeliss
This salad is very easy to make and was a big hit. I omitted the fresh rosemary, and used more honey b/c the vinaigrette tasted to tart for me. I will make this salad again but I would woulnd't use red wine vinegar, only balsamic and I would add more garlic. This salad would make a wonderful main dish, served w/ fresh bread!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: deedle
I tripled this recipe for a party as is and everyone loved it. It went very fast.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2009
Reviewed by: SHERA1088
Very good! Made this for a work potluck and everyone said they enjoyed it. Very nice for a crowd.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes