My Reviews (18)

Tomato Soup Walnut Cake

A nice walnut and raisin cake. The tomato soup keeps it nice and moist and adds a certain spiciness.
Reviews (18)


08 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: MONOU
This cake is very good. I had no problems with it being dry, and the texture was excellent even with the changes I made: 2 Tbs. ground flax seed mixed with 6 Tbs. hot water for the eggs, applesauce for the shortening, 1/2 cup brown sugar for 1/2 cup of the white, and 1 cup whole wheat flour for 1 cup all-purpose. These made it a little healthier, and I did not add nuts (as per my family's liking). It did not need the frosting either. The only thing I would watch out for is that the longer it sits, the spicier it gets. My 15-year-old brother loved this cake (even when he found out there was tomato soup in it), and my father ate a whole big piece (a first for my "Internet Recipes")!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: witchywoman
The taste is phenominal. I wouldn't have thought of ever using tomato soup in a cake, but the recipe sounded so bizarre I had to give it a whirl and I'm glad I did. The only thing I did different was to cut the recipe in half as a 9 x 13 pan wouldn't fit in my RV oven. I am giving this a 4 star review because the texture is crumbly. Thanks for a great tasting recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 May 2001
Reviewed by: CINDY WIZA
My cake turned out very dry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: Kaylajess
I left out the raisins and walnuts, baked at 350 degrees for about 23 minutes and it came out really moist and delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: CM5199
My cake turned out very, very dry. This is my father's favorite cake so I made it for his birthday. What a disappointment!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: BRENDA JENSEN
this is the best spice cake ever! Everyone in my family loves it! Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: Ruth Kirkey
Excellent!! My father used to make this cake when I was a kid and it is the same! I love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Barbara Y
Very moist cake and everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I made this into a healthy muffins instead of a cake. I cut the sugar back by half, used half melted butter/half homemade organic applesauce to cut back on the fat, two organic eggs, two teaspoons homemade pumpkin pie spice, organic raisins, whole wheat flour and Healthy Request tomato soup. I sifted all the dry ingredients together and wisked all the wet together and I just folded the wet into the dry so they wouldn't get overmixed and become tough. 350* for twenty minutes was just right for baking time. These are for snacks and tomorrow morning's breakfast, but I'll update my review once we've had a chance to sample them. I'll tell you, though. It's a nice way to use up one of the gazillion cans of condensed soup I have in the back of my pantry!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: GREENEYEDFAY
Mmmmm... Spicy, yummy, goodness. I baked this in a springform tube pan with good results. I used W-Wheat pastry flour and brown sugar instead of the all purpose flour and white sugar. Thank you MONOU for the tip about using applesause instead of shortening. Wonderfully moist and bursting with flavor expecially when it has time to age a little.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes