My Reviews (27)

Sausage and Tomato Sauce

This is a very meaty sauce with a goodly amount of garlic and basil. Serve over your favourite pasta.
Reviews (27)


05 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: Chars3girls
This is great! I married into an Italian family, and have always been lovingly teased about my use of 'canned' sauce. I decided to try this as my first attempt at 'home-made' sauce and invited the in-laws over for dinner (think Marie of Everybody Loves Raymond!) LOL! They were impressed and my kids gave it a 'two thumbs up'! The only difference is I used dried basil, added a bit of oregano, and a lil more garlic. This is super easy to make and even better.......it tastes great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: DNESLER
Very good, I use this recipe all the time but add 2 tbsp italian seasoning and 1 tsp oregano. I usually double the recipe, add 1 12oz can of paste and 4 cups of water and let it cook down until slightly thickened.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: SHEILA R
This was a great change of pace recipe and quick to fix. Will definately make this again. Did not rate child reaction as I don't have any kids in the house anymore but imagine they would probably like it also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: GodivaGirl
This was good to make for a quick 30 minute sauce. I scaled this recipe down to 8 servings, used ground sage sausage and pureed my tomatoes (daughter doesn't like them). I like adding a bay leaf for additional flavor too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Patricia
This is a 10+. Added Italian seasoning and oregano - may added some hot red pepper flakes next time. Really loved this one!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: MarieM
This sauce had too much acid in it. It gave my husband and I heartburn. I wanted to try something different than my own sauce, so I gave this a shot. If you have acid reflux, put tb sugar or stick a carrot in to absorb some of the acid. Sorry for the bad review.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2004
Reviewed by: JLH1024
This was excellent sauce. My kids don't like the chunks of tomatoes, so I used tomatoe sauce instead. No need to alter this recipe at all!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: dawn1801
I used this sauce recipe for my lasagna so I modified a little bit because I wanted it really thick. One of my cans of tomato sauce was also the kind with garlic and basil already added in and for the thickness I didn't add the water. Added more oregeno to it too but otherwise it was one of the best sauces I made as my family usually likes Prego.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: KinnyKatty
I made it without sausage. Delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah
I made a version of this using mushrooms. I made it over a campfire though so it was a little different. Overall a GREAT recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes