My Reviews (38)

Tomato Artichoke Pasta

This is a beautiful spring vegetable pasta sauce with artichokes, mushrooms, onion, tomatoes and fresh basil.
Reviews (38)


18 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: SONFLOWERJEWEL05
This was a great basic sauce but I did make a few changes that people might like: put a tbsp. of olive oil in a pan and saute 1-2 cloves of garlic until brown, add onions and saute until translucent. Then add mushrooms ( I added 2 cups), a small can of olives, chopped artichokes, and basil. I then added the flour and milk until sauce thickened. Then I added 2 cups of tomatoes (b/c I love them) and 1 tbsp. of italian herbs and 1 tbsp. of parmasean cheese. I served with angel hair and foccacia bread. It was delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: mandyld
I like to add a little more sauciness than what this recipe calls for, by using grated parmesan in conjunction with the flour, and adding extra milk. This makes for a thicker, richer sauce that coats all the noodles.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2006
Reviewed by: EBEAGLE
I pureed all the vegetables in my processor because I like a smoother sauce. After pureeing, I simmered the sauce on the stove and added a little fat free evaporated milk. I didn't need any flour at all. It turned out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Brent
Have to give it 5 stars when it tastes this good and is this easy. I used marinated artichokes (which I think are packed in water with some oil and spices), and it tasted great. I went for the route of cooking up some garlic/onion in olive oil before making the sauce. Also added dried basil (no fresh) and a bit of oregano.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: AVKLEVENS
I absolutely love this recipe! Instead of the 2 tomatoes, which I don't always have on hand, I use a can of diced tomatoes. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: JENNIFERFITCH
This is a great recipe. I have fixed it twice. My family loves it. The first time I fixed it according to recipe, and the second time I included some cubed chicken breast. It is great both ways. Thanks Holly...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: cclem
I thought this was quite tasty. I used different vegetables only because I used what I had on hand (onions, roasted red peppers, zucchini and tomatoes), but followed the recipe for the most part. I really liked it and thought it was a good change from standard pasta and not as fattening as some alfredo sauces are.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: britishcolumbiagirl
As others have mentioned, it's not really alfredo, but it's still really good. I omitted the flour and used heavy cream instead of milk and added minced fresh garlic and some sweet red pepper. This is a nice quick way to serve pasta. I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: KELLY H.
It is different from what I normally make, but it is a nice variation.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: nateandronni
I made all sorts of changes to this recipe, but it turned out fantastic! I sauteed the onions beforehand, then sprinkled them with basil because I didn't have fresh. I used marinated canned artichokes. I then added the milk and flour. I used a can of diced tomatoes. Then added garlic salt and parmesan cheese and it turned out great. Let it simmer for about 7 minutes so the flavors blended and served over pasta with a side of baked chicken. A great meal
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes