My Reviews (80)

Tofu Cheese Pasta Bake

A healthy, beautiful and delicious pasta bake with jumbo pasta shells and added tofu for extra protein.
Reviews (80)


03 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Rachelle Shockey
I thought this was OK, maybe a little dry. My 10 yr old loves it though. No one knew about the tofu either. I used extra firm tofu and pressed it dry, then mashed it up with the cheese. I then added in garlic, oregano, basil. I shredded the carrots and zucchini and boiled them for a couple of minutes before adding in. I didn't use the whole box of shells, but it gave me a full 9x13 pan worth. I topped it with a roasted garlic and onion jarred pasta sauce, for the flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: GrannyGamer
I didn't have ricotta, so I left it out, and the recipe was still wonderful. Very easy to make, tastes great, and extremely nutitious. A real winner that I'll make again and again....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: LOBALOBA
Excellent. I did without the ricotta & instead used 14oz. of firm tofu. As well, I substituted the cheese with mozzarella soy cheese. Came out fabulously. Even the "dairy people" didn't notice anything weird. Loved by all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: LAURENMU
These stuffed shells were great. I used fat free ricotta cheese and substituted the zucchini for broccoli and spinach. Then, I put the carrots and broccoli in a food processor and chopped the spinach before cooking them. My boyfriend and I both agreed that the spinach was a great addition to the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: CLIKCHIK
I found this recipe in my vegetarian cookbook and loved it! Simple, easy & delicioius. I modified it by using mostly Veggie Shredds instead of real cheese & used fat-free ricotta. I also used Five Brothers Fresh Tomato & Basil sauce instead of making the sauce with the recipe because we like lots of sauce (and it was faster!).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: RastaFairyAnn
The filling is excellent, mild, perfectly textured and tasty. Be careful when adding or substituting vegetables that you drain everything very well. I recommend blending the tofu, ricotta and egg until smooth before stirring in the carrot mixture and cheeses. I used 2 jars of spinach spaghetti sauce and pepperoni crumbles and tons more cheese. Makes more than 4 servings though - maybe 6.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: AUNTIE K
This turned out pretty good. I used fresh spinach and carrots for the veggies. I also replaced the onion with some chopped garlic. Next time I will use less garlic and more veggies. Also, I really like my shells stuffed full. This recipe was a little short. My 2 year old loved it. It was reasonably easy to make. Play with the seasonings and veggies to give the recipe more taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: MHG1979
i was feeling lazy so i used prego garlic lovers sauce, AND my boyfriend is super picky about what veggies he likes so i used carrots and broccoli instead of the zucchini. it came out great. he's one of those "ew tofu" people and he wouldn't have even know it was tofu if i hadn't told him. we both loved it and will totally make it again. this time i'll make the broccoli a little finer, but other than that i wouldn't change a thing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: WHIRLEDPEAS
I really enjoyed this dinner. My husband and I each ate 5 shells each and were full, and that was only half a serving. I doubled the veggies, and I used jarred sauce instead of making my own to save time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: motorcyclekitty
Honestly, very bland. Needs more spices and I think this would be good. The texture of the tofu if you blend it really good fits right in and you'll never know its there. The tofu really needs a lot of seasoning though so don't be scared of the spices & herbs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes