My Reviews (489)

Shortbread Chocolate Chip Biscuits

A very rich and tasty chocolate chip biscuit with the texture of shortbread. You can make the dough ahead of time and freeze it.
Reviews (489)


25 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: Kristen Lilly Freitas
This is a delicious, crisp, buttery, chocolately cookie! I used salted butter because that is what I had. I didn't have any nuts, so I didn't use them either. Despite these changes the cookies were still wonderful! The cookies looked raw after baking them 25 minutes, but I took them out anyway and put them on the cooling rack. After about 15 minutes, they were crisp and still warm. My husband brought some to his friends at work and they loved them! I plan on doubling the recipe next time
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: CookingIsSexy71
Wow!! But, I made some changes, added 1 tsp vanilla, and used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, doubling the recipe. Also, I used chopped pecans and crushed Heathbar....and Oh my God. I cannot wait to serve them up on Thanksgiving, hubby and I tasted, and they are buttery, scrumptious little bite of heaven!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: SKYEYES
This cookie is a delicious, decadent treat. Besides being a cookie that freezes well, it mails well too! Because I frequently makes "care packages" to send to friends who are all over the world, finding a mailable cookie recipe is a definite plus! I will make these cookies often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: 456
This recipe is really good and very very tasty. you should def make them ps you can make them without walnuts much better !!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
27 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: whosit
Oh, my goodness. Where have these cookies been all my life? So light, buttery and flaky like shortbread should be, and then there are the chocolate chips! Heaven. One thing I can say is that, with the butter and sugar I beat it very, very well to make sure I got a nice, fluffy cookie. A lot of choc chip cookie recipes will say to cream the butter and sugar but I beat the butter and sugar together within an inch of it's life. I also used salted butter and it was fine. I gave mine 15 minutes in the oven. The cookies are going to look like they aren't done when they first come out of the oven--they're fine! Just let them sit for a few minutes. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: Diana
Wonderful recipe! These were so delicious, just what I was looking for for my holiday baking. Thanks for sharing this great recipe Tina. I am going to share it with my friends who love shortbread cookies as well! I do want to add, I have a problem with others who critize the recipe saying they don't taste like chocolate chip cookies. These are shortbread cookies with chocolate chips. They won't taste like your typical chocolate chip cookie, they will taste like a shortbread cookie with a bite of chocolate chip and walnut. A suggestion for those whose cookies turned out to have butter running out of them when baking, softened butter and not melted butter should be used when baking cookies, that may have been the problem.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Karen.U
I just made these cookies and they were not good at all, the kids did not like them at all,Can someone tell me if maybe I did something wrong? I followed the recipe?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: trusthim
These cookies are great shortbread cookies! They taste even better then the chocolate chip shortbread cookies I have bought at the store. I don't like nuts so I left those out. These are NOT regular chocolate chip cookies. They are shortbread, which means they will taste different. Some of the other reviews said there was something missing. There is only something missing if you don't like shortbread. These are perfect and I will definitely be making them again. So easy too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: smileysal
i made this with 200g choc chips as i didn't fancy the walnuts - its absolutely divine
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
21 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: Diane Morin
AWESOME COOKIES I did try a few changes by going 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup icing sugar instead of 1/2 white.I also cut back the choco chips to 1/2 cup and added 1/4 cup choco sprinkle. Both variations were excellent. Make sure you keep to the 300 degrees F and just keep checking them until they are golden. Would recommend to anyone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes