My Reviews (227)

White Fish Scampi

This is a bright fresh way to prepare cheap white fish like tilapia. It uses traditional scampi flavours of lemon, butter and garlic.
Reviews (227)


17 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
It’s painful for me to give this recipe a 1-star rating, but necessary as written, even tho’ it has the potential to be a great dish. First of all, the amount of butter and garlic is WAY overkill. Throw that amount aside and use your own judgment – a little butter, a little garlic and a squeeze of lemon. Then… 40 minutes to cook fish? If you want great, golden color and perfectly cooked fish bake it at 400 degrees for 12-15 minutes, depending on the thickness of your filets. And don’t bother to turn it! Not only is it unnecessary, you risk breaking it apart! I sprinkled the fish with paprika before baking for additional color, and fresh, not dried, parsley after. Also, I didn’t use tilapia (because I really hate it – tastes muddy to me). I made this with grouper, although any mild-flavored white, flaky fish would work – like cod, haddock, flounder or orange roughy. This dish, with the above changes, was much improved - nicely done, great color and appropriately seasoned. Just as with a good steak, if you’ve got a good piece of fish it really needs nothing more than salt, pepper and, with fish, a little lemon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: alleyezonjay
Great recipe! I rated this a 4 because when cooking the fish for @ 375 degrees 40 mins, turning it every 10 mins like directed, it was a little dry. Next time I may cook @ 350 degrees instead of 375 degrees
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: THREXX
This is an interesting concept. I've tried most other tilapia recipes on this site and find them to all either be too similar, too complex, or not my style. 40 minutes @ 375 is WAY too much though. I could already tell just by my experience with baking tilapia and reading other reviews. I tried 35 minutes @ 350 and still found it to be too much. I don't think I'd lower the temp anymore though. I might try 350 @ 30 minutes next time around. I added 2 tablespoons of prepared dijon style mustard based on some other shrimp scampi recipes I've tried and enjoyed. I think this gave it a more interesting flavor. I also added about 2 tablespoons of white wine. I like others only flipped the fish once... at the 20 minute mark. I also placed about 3/4 of a pound of uncooked medium sized shrimp in there with the tilapia and took them out at the same 20 minute mark that I flipped the fish at. They were an 'appetizer' and they turned out perfectly cooked and very tasty. I'd probably give the original recipe a 3/5 but based on the unique concept and potential I give it 4/5.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2009
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
Very tasty recipe. I rated a four rather than five because the cooking time is way off. I set the timer for 30 minutes because 40 just seemed too long. The fish was completely cooked in under 25 minutes. I'm glad I checked it when I did or it would have been dry. I did not turn the fish, either. It isn't really necessary and can lead to breakage.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Anne Z.
This was quite good, although I made a few minor adjustments. I cut the amount of butter in half to reduce the calories and used the juice from one lemon to keep the liquid amount about the same. I didn't have whole garlic on hand, so just used the refrigerated minced kind. The flavor was wonderful and there was still a good amount of sauce left in the pan even after reducing the butter. I would give it 5 stars, but since I felt the need to make those modifications I'm going with 4.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Mrs.Williams
This. Was. AWESOME!!! Super easy and super good. Only change I made was that I added a couple of glugs of white wine. Also, I didnt flip it at all and only had to cook mine for about 20 minutes. Super good over some angel hair pasta. Yum!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: CookinBug
Really good! I cut the butter down significantly and it turned out just fine. I baked at 350 for 35 minutes, only flipping once (I didn't want to risk them falling apart). Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Amy Colwell Bradford
I was worried because I was doubling the recipe - cooking for 7 people - and I only had four cloves of garlic. But I made it and it is SO GOOD that I can't stop eating it! There isn't going to be any leftovers! By far the best recipe I've found so far. Nice and light and doesn't cover up the delicate taste of the fish. Excellent!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Ryan
Made this tonight. Absolutely easy! One of the easiest recipes for scampi I have found. We added about 15 shrimp to this to have some variety in seafood, added about 1 tsp of lemon pepper seasoning, and the whole dish turned out fantastic. Appreciate the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: C. N. Horecka
I kind of adapted this to my tastes a little. I only flipped the fish over once. Twenty minutes into baking after turning the fillets over I sprinkled them with a bit of lemon pepper seasoning. Five minutes prior to the last five minutes of baking I added fresh tomato for color and a little extra flavor. This was an awesome recipe and super easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes