My Reviews (70)

Tilapia Stuffed Pitas

This is a delicious light meal. Feel free to experiment with the seasonings and sauce ingredients to match your personal tastes.
Reviews (70)


15 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: love2cook
In a word...yum! I switched the recipe up just a little bit by lightly breading the tilapia with homemade bread crumbs for a nice crunch. I served the fish "soft taco" style in a flour tortilla and left the anchovies out of the sauce. This meal was a real hit at my house and my visiting friend raved too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Caroline C
Knowing how bland it can be, I sprinkled the tilapia with lemon pepper and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours. Husband enjoyed them, and particularly loved the feta sauce (he doesn't like anchovies, so I didn't tell him they were in it). This was a great way to get some fish into our diet. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: ScottFamily
This was awesome! I did substitute diced cucumber for the lettuce, and it was so good that way, I can't imagine it being quite as good without. Still, what a great recipe, I am so glad to find a new way that we enjoy serving tilapia. I used naan instead of pitas and served it like tacos. I also substituted some anchovy paste for the actual anchovy fillets. I used the Italian salad dressing mix recipe from this site to make the dressing, which was really good. Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: saladsunshine
We love fish tacos, so decided to try this easy and healthy recipe. It is an easy dinner to make. I was pleasantly surprised by the sauce. The fish was ok. Tilapia can be a little bland if not seasoned well. I prefer more of a fried flavor, but it is very healthy this way! I am considering using my favorite fish sticks in place of the tilapia next time. We also used some hot sauce and that gave the pitas a real kick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2007
Reviewed by: britney
We LOVE tilapia and I agree that this was a very quick and easy dish. My husband couldn't get over the sauce, he raved. But neither of us have ever preferred the taste of mayo so i substituted low-fat sour cream in the sauce. Good Eats!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Benjamin
My family loved this recipe. We made one change by adding chopped red bell pepper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Nella85
Very good recipe, but I made a few changes, and it was delicious. 1) I didn't add salt in the sauce (feta cheese is already salty) 2) I've added 1 teaspoon of oregano in the sauce as well 1 teaspoon of caper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2009
Reviewed by: CHEFVAUGHAN
WOW!!! This is soooo great! My husband and I have made this at least a dozen times since we came across the recipe about two months ago. We use butter lettuce in the pita and the flavors together are perfect. Everyone we've made this for loves it and asks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: laura
i was actually looking for a fried tilapia recipe. i sprinkled mrs. dash southwest chipolte with dredged in cornmeal for some crunch. made the sauce without the cheese, used a balsamic light vinegarette with mayo. would be awesome as pita or taco, love the idea of butter lettuce or baby greens.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: hey.rae2
made this for my parents and i just earned some brownie points
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes