My Reviews (92)

Herbed Steaks with Mushrooms

This is one of my favourite ways to cook steak, with a spice crust and a topping of mushrooms. Serve with mashed potato.
Reviews (92)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: wifeyluvs2cook
This was very good, im not giving a five star though because I strongly feel that any "sauce" that is intended for the top of steaks should be cooked after the steak is done in the wonderful brown bits in the pan. Thats what i did, after cooking the steak i removed, let rest, added onion and mushrooms, red wine, salt, pepper, and at the end tablespoon of butter. Great on top of the steak. I served the whole thing on top of soft polenta. really good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: DEBBIEKS
I've made this recipe 3 times in the last month. My daughter liked it so much, so requested this for her birthday dinner. The red wine adds a lot of flavor to the mushrooms. I found I like a mixture of different mushrooms. The last time I prepared the "rub", I tripled the recipe and placed the extra in a small glass jar so I can prepare again quickly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Patty F.
I loved the seasonings for the steaks!!! It was delicious! I do not drink or use alcohol in cooking, so I substituted apple cider vinegar for the wine and it was very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: OkinawanPrincess
I love the seasonings used for this steak. I prepared the steaks using rib eye as it was what I had on hand. For the seasoning mix, I minced up some fresh thyme rather than dried, chopped up 1 garlic clove, mixed these with rock salt, black pepper, and paprika. I rubbed the seasonings into the rib eye steak and let it sit like that in the refriegerator for a couple of hours. In a skillet I added olive oil, heated up on medium high heat. I fried the steak on one side, searing it, until it was golden brown, before turning it over to other side. When the steaks were done, I set them aside to rest and to let the juices redistribute while I sauteed the mushrooms. To the same skillet I added 2T butter, shallots and 1 garlic, chopped up and I stirred it up with all the brown bits in the pan. then I added the mushrooms, sliced in half, stirred, added white wine, not red wine, and cooked it for a few minutes. The seasonings added a nice flavor to the steaks and also to the mushroom sautee. I really liked the flavor of the fresh thyme. The wine also adds flavor to the mushrooms along with the brown bits mixed in. My only small criticism is with the submitter's cooking method to use two separate skillet's whereas you could use the same skillet to prepare both the steak and mushrooms. The brown bits from the steaks is what really adds more flavor to the mushrooms. I topped the mushrooms on the steaks and served it along with Rosemary Zuchhini Sticks, also from this website.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: FRAMBUESA
This wasn't too bad. I really like sauteed onions and mushrooms but neither I nor my roommates particularly liked the flavor that the red wine added (and they're both wine people). The rub for the steak was good, though, so I think I'll just use the rub and top with plain onions and mushrooms next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Susan Taylor
Fabuous! Used 1 lb. of Angus flank steak instead of New York strip and grilled it on the George Foreman. Served it with Maple Dill Carrots. Great combo!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2010
Reviewed by: Daniel
Excellent steak recipe! Other than the fact that I doubled the amount of thyme, which I strongly recommend, I followed the instructions and amount of ingredients as suggested and it turned out great! I served this dish with marinated peppers from allrecipes.com along with a side-dish of tomato-basil pasta and had a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon (Gato Negro) from Chile and wow, it was a great combination! I will definitely make this steak recipe again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: jammy105
This is an incredible recipe. Follow the recipe exactly. The thyme is the key to the tangy and bold taste. I would definitely recommend this to any steak lover!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Marcia Smith
I made this for dinner tonight and my husband loved it. The spicyness of the rub was fantastic. I loved the mushrooms. Yummy.I followed the recipe exactly.All around excellant flavours.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: awsamford
Good Recipe, everyone loved it. We prepared the steaks with the spices like suggested. But we cooked our steaks out on the grill instead of searing them in a pan, Very nice and juicy. Mushrooms, shallots and wine very nice addition to the steaks. Will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes