My Reviews (467)

Garlic Quinoa Pilaf

Quinoa is becoming very popular as an alternative to rice. It cooks very quickly and has a nuttier flavour.
Reviews (467)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
JESSICA1467 said:
Used different ingredients. Very good. Made a few changes. Cooked the onions when i was toasting the quinoa. Also added in diced red capsicum. Before simmering I added in all the spices except the parsely. After simmering I added in parsely and lemon juice. But VERY good!
 
04 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: AnniG
This was my first time ever trying quinoa & I loved it. I used spring onions instead of regular onions, & l put the garlic in at the start as other reviewers suggested. I was expecting the quinoa to swell (a bit like rice does) & was constantly checking to see if I should add more liquid but found it wasnt needed. I'll definitely make it again!
 
Comment:
09 Apr 2011
aannsha said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I would add a tad less liquid next time, and let it sit for a while before serving. This allows the quinoa to soak up the liquid/tastes.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: NKASAM
3 out of 6 of us are gluten intolerant. I happened upon this recipe and it has forever changed our life! My husband (who is not a celiac) LOVES this recipe and has requested I find as many recipes as I can about quinoa because it's so healthy. I do sautee the onion and garlic with the quinoa. Love, love, love this recipe! Thanks for the great rice alternative for my whole family.
 
09 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: aannsha
Very tasty. My husband was suspicious at first, of something new posing as rice. But he went back for second helpings!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: BRIGHTON BRIT
Nice alternative to rice. Used low sodium low fat chicken stock - there was no need to add additional butter or salt to make it tasty. The texture is similiar to wild rice, which my son doesn't like so he wasn't a fan, but the rest of the family and the neighbors loved it. Will definately make again.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: XTOMMY
WOW, this recipe is great! In case you didn't know, quinoa (pronounced keen-wah) contains more protein than any other grain. Since it also contains a good amount of lysine, it is a complete protein. I made a few changes to the recipe - only had organic beef stock (in the box) and dried herbs. Used a couple of green onions and two cloves of garlic. Also added a little ground pepper. Great and easy way to serve up quinoa. Note about rinsing or soaking: normally, quinoa has a bitter saponins coating that is removed by soaking it or rinsing it. Most of the quinoa sold in the USA has already had the coating removed so rinsing is not required. But best check your source!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JOSIE
This recipe is excellent! I watch the glycemic index of foods I eat, and quinoa is a low GI food (35.) I've been looking for recipes for quinoa to include in my diet, and this was a great addition!
 
22 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: tracer2
This was really yummy. I used red qunioa, nice and easy - just the same as cooking rice, but this has so much flavour and is better nutritionally for you.
 
18 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Pennyhealy
Yum and easy, I followed recipe exactly except put only two cloves of garlic because I was worried about it being raw but it was delicious!
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes