My Reviews (40)

Colby Macaroni and Cheese with Tomatoes

Stewed tomatoes add a twist to this delicious macaroni which has two kinds of cheese. Everyone loves it!
Reviews (40)


30 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: vanessajbaca
I really liked it! A good simple meal for a quick weeknight dinner. I too cut back on the amount of macaroni, but used 1.5 cans of stewed, diced tomatoes, some butter and two crushed garlic cloves in addition to the cheese. Oh and I used sharp cheddar, monterey jack and mozzarella (all I had on hand), as well as a spoonful of sour cream, and it came out just fine. I imagine some cooked ground beef, turkey or shredded chicken would also go well with this dish. Lots of options for a meal like this one and served with a nice side salad and some bread, it makes an easy and quick dinner for a hungry family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: karen
This has been a family recipe for over 50 years - my mom and grandmother ran a restaurant and this was on our menu every Friday! A few changes we make - we use canned whole tomatoes and squish them up with our fingers - they just always seem juicier and some folks don't like stewed tomatoes or always have them on hand. We also add a lot of ground black pepper (I prefer fresh cracked but you can use ready-ground too). Just as a note - this is NOT a creamy mac and cheese recipe - not meant to be! The cheese will be rather clumpy and not spread throughout but it is marvelous that way! One hint - if you do have leftovers, saute them in a little butter/margarine the next day - even better!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Sarah W
I used only 1 lb. of medium shells but 2 cans of tomatoes and more cheese than called for, cutting the cubes into smaller pieces - used colby/jack, cheddar, and a few cut up slices of muenster. I also mixed in about a tablespoon of butter into the hot, drained shells and mixed in the cheese, tomatoes, S&P,and some garlic in the hot pot to melt it down a little before putting into baking dish. Came out GREAT and the leftovers reheated better than expected, too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Catie Myers
We really liked this recipe with a few changes. I used less macaroni and rotel tomatoes instead of stewed. Also added a little butter, garlic salt and seasoned salt. I used shredded mexican blend cheese too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Adrienne
A new favorite in the family. My husband and I have it almost monthly. We tried it also with fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Delicious and a little bit healthier.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Janny39
It's okay. The added tomato flavor was nice but the cheese tended to melt and clump together into balls rather than spread like a sauce through the macaroni.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Cayci_3
This is wonderful. To make it a 5 star, I added some garlic and onion powder. This could give Pizza Hut pasta a run for their money! Great mix of cheeses, the tomatoes pop with flavor outta the oven, and the combination of powders really top it off. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Chef Dan George
Fried 1 pound of hamberger meat and used rotel (mild)...Used sherdded cheese. Topped with crisp bacon. Luv this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: JOYCE_NIELSEN
This recipe is o.k. Perhaps I used too much macaroni, as I found it to be too dry for my tastes. The kids' reaction was lukewarm, as was my husband's.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: Jenny Stover
It was ok for tonight, but the cheese clumped up and some noodles were bare... Not what I was expecting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes