My Reviews (9)

Coconut Chocolate Chip Biscuits

Coconut essence is the secret ingredient in these great chocolate chip biscuits. They come out quite large.
Reviews (9)


01 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: House of Aqua
This is an excellent cookie. I used some Ghiradelli Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips in the recipe and I used LorAnn's Coconut Oil in place of coconut extract. The oil is more concentrated than extract so I just had to adjust accordingly. The chocolate chips and coconut make a great combination. The cookies baked really nice as well. **Update** I froze the remaining dough into ready to bake balls and they bake with less cracks on the top. I also added some M&M's pressed into thr tops of the frozen dough before baking and it is was great combination with the chocolate, coconut, and cookie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: lf16
I already have a really great chocolate chip cookie recipe, but cause of the amount of butter you can only really eat a couple at a time. So I needed a good recipe that only required 1/2 cup of butter, without the rest of the ingredients being cut by half either. This one fit the bill! I used margarine instead of shortening, and I was a bit worried cause the batter tasted floury, but they turned out really good! I think I'll be keeping this recipe. I also used vanilla instead of the coconut extract. Actually, I find that these cookies taste exactly like the ones I used to make as a kid but the recipe book has been lost for a few years, so I really will be keeping this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: SKYJER
These were awesome!!! My sons loved them so much I found myself making cookies all weekend...Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Dancing Queen
I did not have coconut extract so I added vanilla instead. I did use Almond Joy chocolate pieces to make up for the lack of coconut extract though. These cookies were ok. I had to add more flour after the first batch backed up flat and greasy as well as turning the oven temp down to 350. Not a chewy middle cookie. I love trying new recipes so I thank you for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Patti Montgomery
mmmmm they were good I substituted one cup of the chocolate chips for chopped walnut and they very enjoyable
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: DANIANNIE
SWEET! No, seriously. Although these cookies were very good, they were extremely sweet. We would definitely reccomend that you have a nice tall glass of ice-cold milk handy to help tone down the burning sweetness. We would also suggest that if you don't like to sway too far from the traditional chocolate chip cookie recipe, you substitute the coconut extract in this recipe for the usual vanilla. The coconut really does change the flavour of the cookie. Mmmm mmm!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Julie
I made one change, and that was to use vanilla extract instead of coconut. We don't have coconut extract, and I just don't like coconut in general. I also used a rounded tablespoon to scoop out the mixture onto the tray and got 48 small-ish cookies out of it. I also cooked them for exactly 10 minutes, took them out and left them on the tray for a minute or two to cool down before transferring over to a rack. A guest claimed that they're SO MUCH BETTER than the recipe on the back of the Nestle Tollhouse package and wants the recipe. My sweet-toothed husband is now a big fan of them and wants me to keep using this recipe...so I will. The chocolate chips in the middle were really gooey. Good stuff. :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2012
Reviewed by: Lara
I used vanilla instead of coconut extract and coconut milk instead of regular milk. So yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: AngieM
Wow! The coconut extract compliment these cookies fantastically! The only thing I changed was to substitute margarine for the shortening. The cookies bake up plump and chewy. Perfect and YUMMY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes