My Reviews (51)

Banana Pineapple Cake

I love this cake which is super moist from pineapple and banana. You can omit the nuts if you like and it's still great.
Reviews (51)


27 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Barbara
This is a great recipe. Just like a previous rating, I found this as the 'hummingbird cake'. I made a few changes that makes it healthier and just a tasty. I replaced sugar with splenda brand sweetener and replaced approx. 1/2 of the oil with applesauce. My family can't get enough, and despite my diabetes I can eat some to. I also made a glaze from the splenda and spread on top of it. I made mine in a 9 1/2" x 13 1/2" pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Pure Texan
The cake is fabulous when made by the original recipe. I also make a browned butter glaze for the cake.Melt 1/3 cup butter on medium heat till golden brown.Add 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 1/2 t. vanilla and 3 T. warm water. Stir till mixed and quickly drizzle over cooled cake. Top with chopped pecans.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: cricket
This recipe has been a favorite in my family for three generations - that I know of - only we know it as Hummingbird Cake and ice it with cream cheese frosting. I thought it was a family secret until I looked in Allrecipes.com and found Hummingbird Cake 1, 11, 111, etc. Whenever I don't have quite enough bananas, I add chopped fresh apples or whole cranberries to make up the volume. I bake in 3 cake layer pans so there's lots of area to spread that luscious frosting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: MrsBrenda
What a WONDERFUL & DELICIOUS bundt cake! I omitted the nuts (I have a young son who can't eat them yet), but it is truly a great tasting cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Margo
I have had this receipe for 30 years and my receipe calls for only 1-1/2 C sugar, 1 C oil, no nuts and an UNDRAINED 8oz can of crushed pineapple. Easy and delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: SILVERISNOW
This has been a family favorite for over a year now. I made it once for a friend when I lived in England, and she and her whole family thought it was the best cake ever. I make it at home all the time when I have leftover ripe bananas. It's easy to make, easy cleanup, and everyone loves it. We bake it in a bundt pan, no frosting, and eat it as a morning coffee cake or afternoon tea cake. Oh and I also usually only use like 1 1/2 cups sugar and that is PLENTY. This makes cute little mini bundt cakes as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Paula
This is a wonderful moist cake that requires no frosting. (It is called Hummingbird Cake if it has a cream cheese frosting) It needs to bake only 65-70 minutes though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: ANGELINOREGON2
I thought this was the best tasting cake I'm not a cake person but I enjoyed this and used it as my morning wake up my husband loved it in fact I am going to make it again tonight for my friend for the morning.And my daughter since I was not nice and never shared this the first time I made it was to good to share..this time I'm going to cut out some of the oil will let you know what it's like.but I never saw the calaries before good thing I would never have ate it lol. It's moist and tastes great. I guess who cares if you forget that sometimes. Thanks for shareing that with the World..Angel From Oregon
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: maxxymacy
I LOVE THIS CAKE. If I could give this cake more than 5 stars I would. It is so easy to make. The results are nothing short of spectacular and my entire family keeps asking for more. This recipe will be handed down through the generations...that's just how incredible it is. The recipe is right on!! I didn't change a thing! Do yourself and your loved ones a favor and make this cake!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Pommerenk Mama
This is my new favorite recipe. I doubled the batch and put half in a bundt pan and the other half in mini loaf pans. I sent the bundt cake to work with my husband and took a loaf to work with me...the cake was a BIG hit. I made an icing for the top with the left over pineapple juice to "fancy" up the presentation.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes