My Reviews (23)

Walnut Basil Pesto

You can keep this pesto in the freezer for months. It's delicious on pizza, pasta, pita breads, chicken and fish.
Reviews (23)


07 May 2007
Reviewed by: rebeccalovestocook
This was ok. I love pesto, made pretty much every recipe on this site, and this was by far my least favorite. I love adding pine nuts or walnuts to pesto, but the amounts called for were too much, it competed with the basil flavor. Also, the combination of both butter and olive oil made it way to heavy/greasy for my taste. I did like the idea of adding two cheeses, I will probably try that with one of the other recipes from this site, but I won't make this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: taralynne
This is heaven. I love pine nuts so I had added an extra tablespoon of them. Also, before placing the pine nuts and walnuts in the processor, I placed them in one layer on a baking sheet in the oven for 5 minutes on 350. It gets their oils going and a more nuttier flavor, which I find to be the great kick in pesto.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: DEBORAHARV614
This pesto has far too may ingredients, I thought using the basil & parsley and walnuts & pine nuts muddled the flavors... too much competition...I also thought there was way too much fat involved. Sorry, but I like my pesto to have a clean, crisp basil/pine nut flavor. I did however like the mixture of cheeses.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: SDStace
Thanks for sharing this recipe with us. I love pesto and hope to try many more recipes here. I cut the olive oil to 1/4 cup as another suggested, and that seemed to suit me well - especially when topping it with oil to prevent oxidization. Initially thought it was too salty and not enough basil as another reviewer said, but once you get it on the pasta, it's just right.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: mermaid
The olive oil amount should be cut down a bit, and don't add the butter. Butter isn't used in pesto recipes. It's usually nuts (pine or walnut), garlic, oil, basil, paremsan cheese. Salt and pepper can be added but aren't necessary. When I make pesto, I don't use garlic because I'm allergic, but onions or shallots make a good substitute.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Kim Scheer DeRosa
I cut the olive oil down to 1/4 cup and it came out great! Very tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Nell
This really is the best pesto ever. I made it to go with pasta for a dinner party and made too much. The next night we ate it on burgers with melted mozzarella cheese and baby greens. They were fabulous.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Bobo's Mama
Wonderful. I will make this again and again. I toasted the pine nuts before adding them. Besides that I didn't change a thing. I put it into individual containers so I could freeze it and have it to use later.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Eileen Dargon
Excellent recipe!. It was my first time making pesto, so this was a great starter for me. I did add about 1/3 cup red onion to it. Will definitley make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: jgregory
This was great! I used it with a creamy chicken pasta dish and it tasted amazing. However I did omit the romano cheese and pine nuts because I didn't have any on hand but I probably couldn't tell the difference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes