My Reviews (86)

Chocolate Coffee Sheet Cake

This is a great chocolate cake with chocolate icing that is made with coffee and sour cream. It is very rich.
Reviews (86)


22 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: Niki
I thought this cake was awesome. The only problem I had was with the frosting. When I brought it to a boil (the butter, milk and cocoa) it turned gritty and separated so that it looked like an oily, gritty mess. I threw that batch out and tried again, only to have the same thing happen. The third time I tried it, I did not bring the mixture to a boil, I just melted everything down and got it smooth then added the powdered sugar and went on with the rest of the recipe. Other than that, it's a great cake. It was very moist with a nice flavor, it was neat to serve and even transporting it was easy as the frosting didn't stick to the saran wrap once it set. I will definately keep this recipe and use it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: Shannon D
I've made this recipe for years, and it's by far, one of my favorites. I use buttermilk in place of the milk. Makes it even richer, and you have no idea that it's buttermilk when you eat it. So don't worry if you don't like buttermilk. Ya can't even tell! I promise it's worth the change!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: ALOTTAKIDDOS
Very good....want it to taste authentic??? Add a tsp of cinnamon to the cake batter...and pan toast the pecans before adding them. Delicioso!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Michael Carmody
My Aunt Tinie, a lifelong Okie, passed away a couple years ago, and no one in the family has been able to give me her chocolate sheet cake recipe (though I DID inherit her sewing machine). I remember well going down to visit her and Uncle Homer... She almost always made a cake like this. I remembered hers having a slight tinge of cinnamon, so I added about 3/4 of a teaspoon to the recipe. It tastes almost spot-on. It baked perfectly in my oven and is so rich and moist... I brought a piece to work with me this morning for breakfast! (Last night, while it was still warm, I served it up with a scoop of coffee flavored ice cream.) Delicious! Delicious! Delicious! I couldn't be more pleased. Thanks for submitting this, Sister!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: J33PGRL
WOW what an incredible recipe. I thought I had messed it up somehow because it didn't rise, but it was the moistest, had the most wonderful flavor, everyone at work loved it and asks me to make it often. Thank you so much Sister Pemberton
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: MLALAK
This cake is great. It's not super deep-dark chocolate in flavor, so if thats what you're looking for, this isn't the recipe for you. This is very moist, and almost creamy tasting. I halved it and used an 8x8x2 pan (baked for 25 minutes) and it came out perfect. I didn't have any issues with the icing, as other reviewers had, and I followed the recipe instructions to put the icing on while the cake is still really warm.This is actually better the next day (I think it gets even moister from sitting overnight with the frosting on top).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Gal Benron
I think there's a very big palate difference between the states and Israel, for there is not other way to explain why this is rated 5 stars and I thought it was awful. The frosting is gritty and feels artificial, and the cake itself tastes like imitation chocolate cake. Will not make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: JONZEZ4
this was very good. The cake is very light, not an overpowering chocolate, so even with the fudge icing it is not too much chocolate. You do have to watch the icing though, I agree with an earlier reviewer who mentioned removing from heat when it is smooth and not quite boiling. If you let it boil the texture becomes grainy. I added the pecans on top of the warm icing so I could leave half of the cake without nuts for those who prefer it that way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: HaroldsGirl
SO good! I make this in a 9x13 when I'm not feeding a crowd, I just bake a few minutes longer. Texas Sheet Cake was always my favorite cake growing up, and this recipe makes an even better cake than I remember. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2007
Reviewed by: suz
Couldn't find the recipe I've used for years for a texas sheet cake - I'm glad cause this is waaaay better than the one I had! Very moist (the sour cream?) and I thought a great texture. Used new dark chocolate cocoa and instant coffee crystals in hot water - easy, easy, easy. Took to a big pot luck; lot of chocolate things and this was the only one that disappeared, despite being the largest pan. Try it - you'll like it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes