My Reviews (55)

Chocolate Cake with Pecan Chocolate Icing

This cake is excellent with vanilla ice cream which compliments the chocolate icing perfectly. Enjoy!
Reviews (55)


27 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Princess Mandy
This is one of the best and easiest 'from scratch' cakes I've ever made. It's definitely a No Fail recipe made exactly as is. Believe it or not, it tastes even better the next day (If there's any leftover!) I usually skip the nuts in the frosting because I prefer it plain. Also, if you don't have buttermilk on hand, you can make your own by mixing 1 Tbsp white vinegar or Lemon juice with 1 cup of milk. Let it sit until it clots (about 5 to 10 minutes) and add according to recipe instructions. One last thing is the frosting usually cooks a little strange. As I'm cooking it on the stove about the time it's supposed to get bubbly around the edges, it seems to 'separate'. However, once I beat in the powdered sugar with my mixer, everything is fine. The first time I made it, I threw it out because I thought it was ruined when it seperated, but when I made my second batch and it happened again I decided to just beat it with the powdered sugar to see what happened and it turned out perfectly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: Lauren Fredette
Makes a nice cake. Based on my experience making the recipe, I would suggest the following changes: 1) Increase the chocolate by a 1/2 oz 2) Add an extra 1/2 cup flour 3) Omit cinnamon 4) Replace some water with prepared coffee 5) decrease amount of frosting by 1/2.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2002
Reviewed by: A Pilot's Wife
I couldn't believe how easy this recipe was! I made it for a family get together, and it was a huge success. This cake was wonderfully moist, and delightfully chocolatey! My nine year old even asked me to save a piece to put in his lunchbox the next day. Not surprisingly, when I asked the crowd if anyone wanted to take home some leftovers, everyone requested cake. The only problem was, there was nothing left of it but a few crumbs in the bottom of the pan! I have a feeling that I am now the official "dessert bringer" for all family get togethers, and that this recipe will be used again and again...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2000
Reviewed by: NANCYPARR
My family has loved this cake for 30 years. There are many variations but this seems to be the best proportions. A chocolate fantasy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: IMAPUGLUVR
This recipe is very good. I took the advice of previous reviews and increased the flour by 1/2 cup and decreased the cinnamon by 1/2 teaspoon. However, I kept the chocolate at 2oz. and the fudge quality of the icing made up for the mild chocolate with the hint of cinnamon flavor of the cake. Will make again with no more alterations than I already made!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: susane
my grandmother made a very similar cake and she's from Oklahoms, go figure..great cake...i use Dutch process cocoa, not baking chocolate (use the conversion chart on the back of the tin of cocoa) and toast your pecans for extra flavor. who has buttermilk on hand? 1 tablespoon white vinegar or 1 tablespoon lemon juice added to 1 cup milk (let sit for 10-20 minutes) does just as well. great childhood memory cake and everyone raves about it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Angie
Yummy!! However, I did omit the cinnamon, and used buttermilk for the frosting recipe as well. Very good, and oh so sinful!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: RUBIES71
Words cannot describe this cake. I took the previous advice...cut cinnamon in half; added 1/2 c more flour. For extra special treat I used good Italian chocolate with 75% butterfat! This will be in my permanent repetoire. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Joanne
This recipe was awesome! I have been in search of this recipe and was I glad that I chose to make Bron's recipe!!! Moist and yummy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: JEFFV67
WAYYYYYY too much cinnamon in this recipe. I'd probably drop it out completely if and when I make this again. Otherwise, it's a nice moist cake, with good frosting, but the overwhelming cinnamon flavor blew it for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes