My Reviews (114)

Chocolate Sheet Cake with Walnut Icing

This is a great cake for large gatherings or potlucks because it is easily sliced and served. Enjoy!
Reviews (114)


23 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: MRSPELL
Excellent taste and texture. For those of you that are ending up with crumbly cake, you are over mixing the batter. Mix it just enought to get it all blended.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: SOCALTED
Have the made the same thing for many years...people love it. Some differences though, I do not use walnuts in the batter for one and bake it at 350 degrees on 11x17 cookie sheet. In the icing I use cream or half & half. Bring the icing to a gentle boils, adding the powdered sugar at the very end just before frosting the cake (which should still be warm).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: BLOOMISSEXY
Would you like a little cake with your frosting!?! My friend and i made this cake and hated it. the frosting was at least three times as thick as the cake. the cake turnes out extreamly dry and brittle. this also not the easiest cake to make. i would not recommend making this cake for anytype of occasion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: NOT HUNGRY
I've been making this recipe for many years. This is the cake that Lady Bird Johnson makes for LBJ. Now I figured, if it's good enough for the Ol' Pres, and he's a genuine Texacan...I'll give it a try. I wasn't sorry. Give this a try. Very good. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
made this the other night for a school function.. once i had already melted the butter, i realized i only had 3/4 cup of sugar.. so i replaced the rest of the sugar with light brown sugar.. it worked, cause they came out great!! i made the icing just as the recipe calls for, but in half the frosting i mixed in 1/2 cup of walnuts and frosted half of the brownie/cake with plain frosting and half with nut frosting.. great recipe! wish i had some now..
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: Margie
this was very good. I lost my recipe for Texas Sheet Cake years ago and this taste just like the one I lost.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: NOTTINGGATE
This was the first time I had ever made Texas Sheet Cake and it was easy and a HIT! Stays moist and is a favorite by many. Will definitely keep using this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: RAGDOLL25
This was incredibly easy and quick---kids loved it, but my husband thought the icing was too sweet and not chocolaty enough. The cake stayed moist for days. The cake came out of the pan well too---I unmolded the whole sheet and used it to make a layer cake---worked very well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: DICKSIELEE
I halved this recipe without difficulty. Moist, tender cake. Frosting needed significant thinning with additional milk. Clean up very easy. Just a bit too sweet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Gale Clutts McGraw
I've been making this for years, and it is always a hit. To those who think the frosting is too thick, you need to frost the cake while the cake is still HOT. The frosting melts and is partially absorbed into the cake. There is no need to thin the frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes