My Reviews (297)

Easy Szechuan Chicken

This is a quick simple version of Szechuan or Sichuan chicken, which is usually served over white rice.
Reviews (297)


18 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: TracyWhite
This recipe is super easy with lots of flavour! Family enjoyed it a lot.
 
23 Apr 2015
Super yummy!
 
22 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: CURTISLEE
Do note--if you expect any kind of sauce, don't. I forgot that Szechuan Chicken usually doesn't come with sauce. When I selected this recipe, I expected something along the lines of Kung Pao Chicken, which usually comes with sauce. The chicken had an exceptionally good flavor and served with rice, is a definite winner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2005
Reviewed by: CHUBBYCHEEK
Overall, this is a good recipe. I made some changes to this recipe to suit my taste. Reduce the amount of soysauce to 2 TSP, and add 1/2 TSP directly to the meat. Add 1 more tsp of sugar to balance the flavor. Add a dash of five spice powder or ginger to give it authenticity. I tried the recipe with beef, and it turned out good. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Wonder Wanda
Every time I make this recipe, it turns out fantastic and people love it. The prep time has made it take over an hour before, depending on how many vegetables I chop up and mix in (e.g. carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, bell pepper, mushroom, green onion) or if I need to de-bone the meat. I would also suggest adding peanuts to the sauce. Using the original recipe, i.e. boneless skinless meat and not chopping any veggies, this is superfast and easy. When cooking the rice, I like to add a little soy sauce and/or Szechuan seasoning to the rice water for flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: the allrecipes staff
We have updated this recipe to include 1 teaspoon of sugar as per the original submission.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2007
Reviewed by: SPEARFISHER
Seems to me that some of these recipes just "run together." Its a "different recipe" but the same flavor. THIS recipe is great in that it is unique in flavor, not to mention it tastes great It is very fast and it is versatile. That being said, double up the sauce! Its great with pork or beef too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: Susan K.
I made this last night, but I adjusted the recipe to suit my family's tastes. I only used 3 tblsp soy sauce. To make up for the liquid, I added 1 tblsp Chinese cooking wine,(sherry would work too,) and also 1 tblsp sesami oil. I increased the amount of cayenne pepper to 1/4 tsp and only used one green onion. Also, I added that green onion during the last few minutes of cooking since my family is not fond of the raw onion taste. The family loved this dish and I'll make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: ROUXMOM
I added sesame seeds and a little extra cayenne pepper, and it was perfect, especially served with veggies over steamed white rice. Exactly what I was hoping for. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2005
Reviewed by: LARANEFF
Great Recipe! Super easy, I found the preptime was even less than stated, I cook rice for 20 minutes, and I did all the prep work and cooked it and it was ready right as the rice was. I used rice vinegar instead, very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes