My Reviews (24)

Mock Tuna Salad with Tempeh

This is a vegetarian version of tuna salad which uses tempeh instead of fish. The taste and texture is very similar.
Reviews (24)


17 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Parjata
Fantastic! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except used a bit more tempeh and mayo. The taste and texture are convincingly close to the real thing. Perfect for those who like tuna salad but would rather avoid tuna because of mercury, dolphins, overfishing, etc...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: EMILYAAA
this was my first experience with Tempeh (i could only find the 5 grain kind, so that's what i used) and it was delicious! I was sure it was going to be too funky for my 2 and 3 year olds to eat, but i added it to our "tuna" melts and they ate it up! I'm not a vegan, so i just used real mayo, which was just fine. And i didn't have celery, so i added cucumber--great texture! I'm a big believer in eating fermented foods, and now this is a fun addition to my recipe box! thanks for this recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Colleen
YUM. Seriously delicious, even without the celery (although the consistency is a bit runny because of that omission. who cares about that!?!?). I also decreased the amount of dill pickle, since I thought a cup was overkill. Next time I'll be adding a little curry, just for kicks. I didn't bother grating the tempeh but just chunked it - it naturally fell apart during the cooking process. I used vegetable bouillon plus water instead of broth and then added cracked pepper at the very end, before I let it sit in the fridge for a couple hours.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Quelyn
I've been a Vegetarian for 5 years and I've been looking for a good replacement for Tuna for Tuna Melts. I used this recipe to make some Mock Tuna Salad and some Tuna Melts. I thought it was very good. The taste was good & the sandwhiches were great. It wasn't really a good substitute for straight up Tuna, but it was a good one for Tuna Salad. It takes a while to prepare so I'm not sure how often I would make this, but overall very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: bibliobubba
I'm glad so many people liked this recipe. Thank you very much for your comments. The recipe is very easy to modify; for example, if you prefer pickle relish or bread and butter pickles to dill, you can certainly substitute. I have also added green pepper for extra crunch, as well as kalamata olives. Additionally...I myself don't like mayonnaise, so I substitute 1/4 c. olive oil. I just tried pulsing the tempeh in a food processor after simmering it and before adding the other ingredients. The texture is smoother that way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: VeggieGal
YUM!! I will confess... I had my doubts about this while I was putting it together. I played around with the recipe a bit - using sweet pickles instead of dill, adding chopped carrots for extra crunch, and skipping the seaweed, simply because I didn't have any at home (tho I might get some now simply for this recipe!) This is great straight out of the bowl, and I'm sure it will only get better as the flavors meld. I'm planning to enjoy a big scoop of this on top of a green salad... YUM! Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Allison Shauger
Pretty good. I added chopped radishes because I had a ton of them from farmers' market. I also substituted capers for the pickles because I had no pickles. I added freshly ground pepper. It seems a tiny bit runny, so I might adjust the mayo/dressing or try using a little oil instead of mayo next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: MOLLYES
This was excellent--everyone who tried it loved it, even my meat and potatoes friends. I didn't add the mayo because I didn't have it--just used a tiny bit of oil to help bind it. Also, it was a little too salty, but I'll just cut back on the soy sauce a bit next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Wilma Laura Wiggins
Very nice substitute for mercury-laden tuna. Cooking the tempeh in the broth first is important, and I used fish sauce instead of soy sauce. I think next time I will add some fish sauce and seaweed to the broth to add a little more sea flavor. Adding chopped boiled egg makes it seem even more realistic (to me).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: cyclical
So yummy!! I've been craving tuna but not all the mercury so this was absolutely amazing!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes