My Reviews (85)

Tasty Tomato Spaghetti Sauce

This is a quick version of pasta sauce in that it doesn't have to simmer all day! Best served with salad and garlic bread.
Reviews (85)


25 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: Emmi331
Either there was a serious misprint on this recipe, or I was naive enough to fall for a joke. This gives new meaning to "Thats-a spicey sauce!" Even though I kept the teaspoons of pepper very scant, the recipe ended up totally inedible.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2007
Reviewed by: GFELAN
Ok, I got rid of the tomato sauce altogether and used double the tomato paste. I used 1 tablespoon of Italian Seasoning and 1 tablespoon of Oregano in place of all the other seasonings (too much spice otherwise). To give it more of a "rich" flavor I added one cup of red wine (Merlot, Cab, whatever you got). This removes a lot of the tomato-y (sp?) taste and gives the sauce a deep rich flavor and taste. The end result is a sauce that will go well on any pasta. No disrespect to the writer, I just put my .02 in the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: COOKINGBUNCHES
I learned this recipe long ago from my Best friend's mother who is Italian, it has exactly the same ingredients but as many of reviewers mentioned, my original recipe uses 1/3 of the spices. I have to add that this is one of my husband's favorites.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: gm2k
I hope you all read the reviews unlike me i didnt. Made a double recipe of this sauce and while its cooking now stupid me i read the reviews in any event ill add another can or 2 of tomato sauce + 1-2 more paste to hopefully skim down the spices else ive lost a bunch of time and money... lesson learned read the reviews
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Joe Bognanni
in reading the other reviews there seems an issue with the amount of pepper used. well... if you use that stuff from your supermarket that is already pre-ground you can put that much in and more because that stuff even fresh out of a new container is stale -lifeless with no real bite you MUST use fresh ground from you own ppr grinder you see pepper once ground loses it life shortly after being ground IF you use fresh grnd ppr then and only then can one speak to the issue of too much or too little ppr
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: CATMANIACS
Pretty good. Made as specified except cut down on all the spices by about 1/2, then adjusted at the end (also added 1 tsp or so of sugar at this point). This made a very thick sauce, needed a little more "sauce" in my opinion. Ended up adding about 1/2 cup of water or so before storing the leftover sauce. I would definitely make this again but would add some addt'l tomato sauce, water or wine to the sauce as it cooks. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Duane
I just made this sauce for the first time. It is excellent. I followed the recipe to the letter, however was somewhat short on onion. The first person who rated this must have done something wrong as I have had no complaints what so ever.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Mrs. Richey
Very Very delicious! It's slightly spicy but nothing my 3 and 6 year old can't handle and they don't like spicy dishes at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: TABSN
This recipe was very quick! And very tasty! It can be made vegetarian too. I added an extra clove or two of garlic and a 1/4 cup of red wine. But use your best judgement on the amount of pepper and/or herbs added. I halved the amount and added more to taste. Delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Lorna
You might be inclined to pass on this recipe after seeing thyme, rosemary, and marjoram in the ingrediants. After all, these are earthy, pungent ingrediants that have big flavors and may not sound appealing in a spaghetti sauce, especially if you're used to the typical garlic/basil/tomato fare. I confess that I probably would've passed this one by. Fortunately, my husband didn't. He found it and made the recipe exactly as written. And I'm so glad he did! It makes a bold and fragrant pasta sauce...that's very, very tasty indeed. Did I mention fragrant? I was surprised at the balance of flavors and how well they work together to make a big, hearty sauce. So make this one with an open mind. If you do and the flavor is not for you, then it's not for you. You didn't do anything wrong and neither did the person who wrote the recipe. I believe this one is written exactly as it should be. And don't tweak it to make it something it's not. This is not meant to be a typical middle of the road, Americanized sauce. If it's too strong for you, try to *proportionately* reduce the rosemary, thyme, marjoram and pepper and see if that helps. That said, this is one recipe where I think tweaking it misses the whole point. While this won't be our "go to" sauce for every day, it's definitely a keeper and one we'll use when we want something different and exciting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes