My Reviews (59)

Spiced Sweet Potato Pie

Rum, butter and sweet potatoes all combine to make this sweet potato pie deliciously rich. Enjoy with whipped cream or ice cream.
Reviews (59)


25 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: GOLDENDUCK
I concur that the amount of sugar listed in the recipe seems too small. I upped the quantity to 2/3 cup of white sugar. Having said that, this is a remarkably easy recipe to fit in to even the time constraints of a full menu, resulting in a pie so delicious that battles ensued as to who will get third helpings. Strongly recommend to cooks of all skill levels.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: TECHNODAWG
This was my first time ever making a sweet potatoe pie and it was a hit. Quick and easy. Friends and family loved it. I made enough for 2 pies (I cooked 3 large size sweet potatoes.) Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: peachypie
I feel sort of bad giving this review to this recipe because clearly I'm in the minority of those who've submitted a review, but I didn't like this recipe at all! This was the first sweet potato pie that I 've made. I've read that oftentimes sweet potato pie is so much better than regular pumpkin pie, so I was anxious to try a sweet potato pie. I followed the recipe exactly, but my husband and I both didn't like it. Of course, I'm comparing it to pumpkin, and maybe that's wrong (like comparing apples to oranges). I therefore didn't rate this recipe. Unfortunately I ended up throwing the pie out and the recipe. I'll stick to pumpkin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: ELEUBANK
My guests loved this receipe! I was not sure if the ingredient rum meant extract or pure so I used pure Puerto Rican spiced rum and it gave the pie a wonderful flavor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Sarah Zeigler
This recipe is great! I made it this evening and couldn't let it cool before trying it. This was so quick to assemble with the processor, my three year old helped. I cut back on the sugar since I have gestational diabetes and it was still delicious. Other than that I followed the directions pretty closely, though I added a little more spices to compensate for the reduced sugar. I think I put in about a 1/4 off a cup of brown sugar. I did add a little vanilla, but that just makes sense... This came out really great, it satisfied my craving without making me ill.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: WEI2GO77
Great pie!! Didn't think it looked right going in the oven, but turned out fantastic! Top it off with a pecan and brown sugar mixture during the last 15 minutes of baking and it's good to go.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: absentMindedcook
I love this pie. It's the best sweet potatoe pie recipe that I've found. My family, friends, and co-workers make it disappear really fast. You have got to try it
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: RENEE6645
Although this pie was texturally excellent, no one in my family enjoyed the rum taste. I am going to try it again omitting the rum and adding a bit more sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: Dolly68
This was very, very good. I put on a topping from another recipe, (Sweet Potato Pie). I will make this for Thanksgiving. dggilmore
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: UNISMOM
I was dubious - I thought it might be like pumpkin pie which I hate. No way - it's easy to make, creamy and delicious - not too much nutmeg flavor. I'll do this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes