My Reviews (417)

Classic Quick French Toast

Use whatever your favourite type of bread is in this easy French toast recipe. Beautiful for a special breakfast.
Reviews (417)


Comment:
08 Oct 2008
WERUD said:
Used different ingredients. I loved this recipe. I did modify it instead of milk I used double cream. Yummy! Be sure not to let your bread soak too long, I usually just coat one side, then the other and onto the hot pan. Yummy
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
DZIER813 said:
Used different ingredients. This was a good recipe. I cut out the nutmeg plus used some vanilla. We enjoyed it
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: ELECTRIFYINGMOJO
My husband, who has very little cooking experience, wanted to make french toast for us and so I looked up this recipe for him. This turned out so well that it is now our very favourite recipe for french toast...and I have tried dozens of different recipes for french toast.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: TAYLOR555
Pretty good. I sprinkled soft brown sugar on top because I didn't have any syrup. It provided just the right amount of sweetness.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: PLF
Made this for oldest son this morning. This is the kid that inhales food like he has never eaten. He had about 4 bites total out of 2 slices and wouldn't eat any more :-( He didn't like the nutmeg taste and thought it was too soggy. When his brother came down for breakfast and saw his brother's plate he refused to even try it. Thanks anyway.
 
03 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: Shellanne
THis was yummy...we also made a savoury version...egg, milk, salt and pepper (and chilli flakes if desired) and served with baked tomatoes
 
16 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: MrsSquizzy
Loved this recipe, and the nutmeg flavour was great - even our 18 month old son gobbled up his slice, and asked for more! We did pay attention to other recommendations and only dipped the bread, without allowing it to become soggy before putting in the fry pan. We tried them served with maple syrup to add a little extra moisture, but they became overly sweet.
 
09 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: Recipecooker45
instead of sugar I used syrup after they were served very sweet already. I used 5 cups of milk 6 or 7 eggs,cinnamon and then I cooked them on a flat iron skillet with oil or butter you can add bananas,berries and syrup!
 
22 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: aliwicks29
Easy yummy recipe I have used a few times now. Tonight I used English muffins with it, therefore combining the French and the English in a very peaceful way for once!
 
15 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: ltstead
What a yummy start to our holiday morning....very filling too!
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes