My Reviews (567)

Sweet Polenta Cake

This is a great sweet polenta cake which is even better the next day eaten with butter and honey. Enjoy!
Reviews (567)


17 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: KIKIBUGT
This was just what I was looking for. I don't care much for regular, dry corn bread. This was very moist and sweet. I did add a half a can of corn, drained. (15 oz can) and I didn't have enough milk, so I used 1 1/2 C evaporated milk and 1 C water instead of the milk. YUMMY! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Adeline&Ezra
This was very good, not your ordinary cornbread. I substituted about half a cup of whole wheat flour and half a cup of ground flax for 1 cup of the white flour to make it feel a little healthier. My 3 year old loved this "cake"!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: bethwalden3
This was most possibly the best cornbread I've ever had! Very sweet and almost cake like.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Charleta
I found this recipe while searching around on here for a cornbread recipe to make for my husband. I noticed he purchased slices of cornbread from a local gas station (now how sad is that?), and my southern pride was a bit bruised when he told me he preferred it over my own. I was like okay, we'll see. I found this recipe and didn't hesitate to make it. After he had a slice, he loved it, and proceeded to eat more and more of it 'til he was practically stuffed! LOL Needless to say, I was so happy, and my pride was restored! LOL I do agree with the review of 'Doree' in that it was also a bit too sweet for my taste, too, but I had to give it five stars as it was such a hit with my husband and my children! Thanks so much for this recipe! Judging my family's reaction to it, I'm sure I'll be revisiting it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: judiann
If cornbread had personalities, this would be on my best friends list! This recipe has a wonderful flavor and texture. I make half the recipe and bake it for 37 minutes in an 11x7 baking dish, and it comes out perfect each time. I whisk the wet ingredients together before adding to the dry ingredients. That way I don't over stir the batter. 2% milks works just as well as whole milk. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: Pam T
I made this substituting King Arthur White Whole Wheat Flour for regular white flour, and it came out wonderful. (Also used real, naturally dried cane sugar.) Only adjustment might be a little additional milk and levening. It was easy to make, and came out light and fluffy. Just like she said, it's a cakey type of cornbread. Great for breakfast.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: lisa
This is FANTASTIC! Moist & delish! I'd like to try it in a bigger pan, tho, next time because it's soooo thick! Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2012
Reviewed by: maxandkeshia
This came out fantastically, I've had to stop myself from eating too many pieces. I made a few changes, however. I used 1/4 cup of melted butter and only 1 cup of organic cane sugar. I added an extra half cup of corneal and replaced the vegetable oil with 2/3 cup of apple sauce and a tablespoon of olive oil. Oh, and instead of honey, I used two tablespoons of maple syrup. And let me tell you, this cornbread is delicious. It doesn't have the same flavor as the traditional Southern cornbread I tend to prefer, but that's okay. It melts in my mouth and the flavor is still excellent. Great recipe! I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: KINGS GIRL
I love my cornbread sweet and have been looking for a good recipe. Well, I found this GREAT one! It tastes like the sweet cornbread I had in a restaurant. My niece and nephew are not cornbread fans, but they loved this. I will be making this again soon!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: JessiB
This is exactly what I was looking for. It's light, fluffy, and sweet. No, it's not your traditional cornbread, but if you're looking for a cornbread that you can butter and eat without anything else then this is it. Don't try it if you're diabetic or on a diet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes