My Reviews (567)

Sweet Polenta Cake

This is a great sweet polenta cake which is even better the next day eaten with butter and honey. Enjoy!
Reviews (567)


04 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
Very nice. No vegetable oil because I used most of it to fry chicken, so I used all butter. I also used buttermilk. Even when I cut the recipe in half, it baked up beautifully. Thirty minutes and wa-la, perfect. No issues with sinking bread when you thought it was done. And the flavor is very fluffy and sweet. My kids and husband especially liked this. I served it with whipped butter and extra honey. Thank you for sharing your recipe. NOTE: I served this with Tanya's Louisiana Southern Fried Chicken and Broccoli Salad. It was a nice comforting dinner. EDITED: I've made this three times now, in 24 hours. My family has dubbed this the best cornbread they've ever had.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
This cornbread is one of the best on the site! It rivals "Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread" 'til now I thought that was my favorite. I cut the recipe in half and used one up of cornmeal and one cup of flour. It was perfectly done in 38 minutes - moist and delicous. I think the only thing that could possibly make this better would be to replace the whole milk with buttermilk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2009
Reviewed by: yanireth
This is exactly what I was looking for. Instead of putting all the flour asked for, I used only a cup and a half and for the rest I used masa (or corn flour) to give a more cornlike taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: elsa
I love this recipe - I am of the sweet cornbread persuasion. I made it as written the first time and give it 5 stars, however, I've made it several more times and this is what I do now: I use 2/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce and 1/3 cup oil and totally skip the butter, I use only 1 cup of sugar. With these 3 minor changes I just love this cake! It's still sweet, but just a little less.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: myfoursonsks
I am the original submitter. I just wanted to note that if you decide to use buttermilk, you should add some baking soda. Baking soda neutralizes the acidity of the buttermilk so that the flavor comes out rich and not tart/sour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Jordansdreammeal
Honey hush! This is the best comfort food since Cliff's chili on The Cosby Show. My seven-year old daughter helped make it and we could not wait for it to come out of the oven! When my husband came home, we had HUNKS of it! Thanks for sharing such an amazing recipe. This should be sold in restaurants ALL OVER! Look out Paula Deen! Thanks! Thanks! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: NDIrish
I made this for an office brunch and everyone loved it, even those who professed to not like cornbread. It was very simple to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Warren
A good recipe for people who don't like corn bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Charlotte
This cornbread is amazing! I baked mine into mini-loaf pans, which just made it better (since there was more of a crust on it). Delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Snowflake
This was AMAZING. I was literally eating the batter, it was so good. I halved the recipe for a 9 inch square pan, this baked for exactly 38 mins. I upped the cornmeal to 1 C & lowered the flour (used whole wheat) to 1 C. I don't keep whole milk on hand so I made a buttermilk substitute. I used skim milk & added a tablespoon of vinegar & let that sit for 10 mins before adding to the bowl. This recipe is just amazing. Best cornbread I have ever tasted. Right after making it, I ate 3 pieces, it was so good. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes