My Reviews (26)

Sweet Challah Bread

This Challah bread is a bit sweeter than normal. The doughier you want the bread to be, the shorter time you should bake it.
Reviews (26)


03 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Kaytee2011
Amazing! ... If you like the sweeter version of classic challah. After all, who doesn't like the sound of more sugar? But if I could change one thing, don't let it rise too long otherwise the bread will lose its shape and turn into a blob of dough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: hazelnut
Tastes really good. I'm not very adept at braiding limp dough, so it looked odd. It does freeze well, though, so you could make it up ahead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Skookipri
Used a lot less flour, maybe 2 1/2 cups less, just couldn't work it all in. Delicious, sweet, fairly easy to make! Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Laura V.
Wonderfully sweet and fluffy. I added raisins soaked in brandy and it was the perfect yom teruah bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Molly Towne
This bread is great and my family can't get enough! The instructions on braiding are very helpful and the bread comes out golden and beautiful every time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: naomi z
Really great rich, sweet challah. I used canola oil, and it was wonderful, when I used olive oil it didn't come out as good. Add chocolate chips for some variety
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: cookingdiva
I used my KitchenAid Mixer with the dough hook attachment to make this dough. I ended up using a ton more flour than the recipe stated-- the dough was very sticky. I also added honey to the dough and to the glaze. This gave me 4 challahs, so I froze two of the loaves for next week! enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Thiru
This is good one
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: Lorena
My dough never ose.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: beffis71
I made this challah for the holidays and it was a big hit with my family! I should mention that I rarely make challah because it never really comes out well for me and seems like a lot of effort for poor results. But this challah wasn't hard to make and came out exactly as I like it- firm and sweet! The family ignored the store bought challah and devoured this one! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes