My Reviews (25)

Cream Filled Biscuits

Delicious biscuits like melting moments with a creamy filling. You can tint the filling to any colour you like.
Reviews (25)


08 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: corinnepipppin2004
great recipe! luv it! <3
 
16 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: LAGRANGELADY
I'm glad that credit was given to the Swedes for the recipe. It seems like all my Swedish relatives think that a recipe should have lots of cream and butter to make it delicious. Maybe not so great for your arteries, but once in a while, who cares? I remember my Mor Mor making similar cookies for her Christmas Eve smorgasboard. The only thing I would suggest is keeping the cookies chilled until right before serving. They are still wonderful, but don't crumble as much as when they are at room temperature. If you are worried about using a raw egg, you can get pasturized eggs at the supermarket, or if you are still worried, leave that ingredient out. These cookies also freeze very well, so you can make them well in advance of when they will be eaten. So delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Kari
My family has been making these cookies for generations. Growing up, I didn't even realize it was a popular cookie. We substitute 1 Tbsp. whipping cream for the egg yolk in the filling. Works perfectly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: DairyGodmother
this is a version of my family's all time greatest cookie. Ours uses light cream instead of heavy, which I couldnt even find on the west coast (light cream is abundant here in the NE). They take a little labor, but its well worth it. People will pause after the first bite and be overcome with how great they are. I roll them thinner than the photos are showing, and use a napkin ring as my cookie cutter. Grandma used a shot-glass :-) I agree with the other ratings, don't be afraid of the egg-yolk and definitely check it at 7 minutes. They should be just getting golden on the edges but overbake quickly. I also double the filling for perfect proportions. Detyails on the recipe -- chill the dough in thirds in flat disks. Take each disk out and leave at room temp for 10-15 minutes, then roll with just a bit of flour on surface and rolling pin. I rolled them this year directly on my granite counters and it worked great. I only prick the cookies with the fork twice and they don't puff up too big. Make them once and you will be a convert -- if Christmas is too much then make them for Easter and color them with pastels!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: DANIELLEGROGHAN
Excellent cookie! My mother has been making this for years and visited for the holidays (Without her recipes!) So we looked for a similar recipe and this is it! The only thing we didn't add was the egg yolk to the frosting - no real need and why take the chance on an uncooked item like that! VERY GOOD!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Patricia Pool Gillogly
Not sure why anyone would consider this a "rip off" from another recipe source?? I first had these 30 years ago when a co-worker brought them to work...they were delicious. I'm glad to see it here as I don't have a Betty Crocker cook book. They really melt in your mouth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: TGal
Excellent! Takes time BUT well worth!!! Followed recipe exactly with no substitutions. (The egg yolk is not going to hurt you.) Make sure to double the filling. My children make this with me during the holidays and it is now a family tradition!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: Renee Rysdyk
So flaky and sweet! To save time, I roll out 2 balls of dough into equal sized rectangles. Prick with a fork, sprinkle with sugar, and bake as directed. When cool, frost one and place the second on top like a sandwich. Use a pizza cutter to cut the cookies into small squares. -OR- EVEN FASTER--instead of making sandwiches, cut each baked rectangle into squares, then pipe frosting (I use a star tip) onto each cookie. Fast and decorative!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Donna Mihalik Rossi
Made these slightly smaller than the recipe states. I used white filling and rolled the finished cookie edge in colored edible glitter (the bride's colors) found at craft stores. Makes a beautiful presentation on a bridal cookie table. Even the caterer wanted the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Romyko
This was a wonderful addition to my cookie repertoire. Instead of rolling my cookies out on a floured board, I rolled them out on a sugar sprinkled board. This eliminated the extra flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes