My Reviews (25)

Swedish Biscuits (Brunscrackers)

These are definitely the easiest biscuits I have ever made, and they are simply addictive! Give them a try!
Reviews (25)


23 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Nicky McGuire
response to previous post ... i have found it in the "international" section of my grocery store with the british products ... or you can just google it & find it online ... Golden syrup is a thick, amber-colored form of inverted sugar syrup, made in the process of refining sugar cane juice into sugar, or by treatment of a sugar solution with acid. It is used in a variety of baking recipes and desserts. It has an appearance and taste similar to honey, and is often used as a substitute for people who cannot eat honey and those who choose not to (such as vegans). It can also be used as a substitute for corn syrup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: redsonja
These cookies are fantastic. Having lived in Norway for several years, I will explain that the vanilla sugar (vaniljesukker)I found in the grocery store was, in fact, of a powdered sugar consistency. However, it can be quite difficult to find the Scandinavia style of vanilla sugar in the United States. I have made the recipe using granulated sugar and adding vanilla, as well as using powdered sugar and adding vanilla. Both ways have turned out just fine. In my estimation, this recipe is very forgiving and highly adaptable. Thus, I think it does not make too much difference which variation of vanilla sugar is used. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: OODLES_OR
True to the description, these cookies are super easy to make and taste absolutely wonderful. I make my own vanilla sugar and used maple syrup. My DH actually gave them this rating. He is drinking a cup of tea and eating them as I am writing this review. He said they would be excellent with coffee or milk also. I even nibbled on one and they almost melt in your mouth. Crispy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful, easy, and fast to make recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Sandra25
Great buttery taste! I made them with whole wheat flour and maple syrup instead of the golden syrup, and they still turned out amazing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: brandi
I loved this recipe. Owing to the fact I had no clue what golden syrup or vanilla sugar were, I just improvised. I used honey for the syrup and for the vanilla sugar I used 1 tsp vanilla extract. These were great! I also liked the fact it had no eggs since I LOVE to eat cookie dough by itself!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Mary Lou
I would make these again. The only thing I did differently from the recipe was to refrigerate the dough before cooking (it was quite sticky and difficult to work with) and then to bake them as drop cookies. I made these at a time when I was desperate for cookies but had absolutely no sugar on hand, but did have golden syrup, although I suppose you could use honey or corn syrup or molasses if you didn't have golden syrup. These turned out much, much better than expected. They did not taste the greatest straight out of the oven and looked quite flat, but once they had cooled they had a lovey slightly crisp but chewy, almost melt-in-your-mouth texture with a really nice buttery flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: ALISSASMOM
The first time I made these almost according to directions - switching corn syrup for golden, and baked them in two rolls and they did not turn out at all. The second time I did them as drop cookies and the taste was very good. Great tasting, but I had issues with the method
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: nikie0301
This recipe is wrong, it reads 225g flour, it should be 450g (double the amount!) Sadly I only worked this out after making the cookies and now have a greasy sticky toffee like batch of biscuits. I'm sure given the correct quantities the cookies would be delicious, and it is a really easy recipe so I will be trying again sometime.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
23 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: wendizcooking
These were pretty good. I was making sugar cookies, but ran out of eggs so found this recipe to use up the dough. I added vanilla extract instead of vanilla sugar (by the way, you can make vanilla sugar by just adding vanilla beans to your sugar) and maple syrup. I also added a bit of nutmeg because I'm on a nutmeg kick right now. I did them as drop cookies and they turned out quite yummy! I'll be adding them to some of my Christmas gift baskets this year. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: OliviaR
These cookies were great! I couldn't get vanilla sugar or golden syrup so I used vanilla extract and maple syrup and it worked great. They were a bit hard when they can out of the oven but very tasty. A very easy and yummy cookie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes